menu

Clayton Byrd Goes Underground
by Rita Williams-Garcia and Frank Morrison




Overview -

From beloved Newbery Honor winner and three-time Coretta Scott King Award winner Rita Williams-Garcia comes a powerful and heartfelt novel about loss, family, and love that will appeal to fans of Jason Reynolds and Kwame Alexander.

Clayton feels most alive when he's with his grandfather, Cool Papa Byrd, and the band of Bluesmen--he can't wait to join them, just as soon as he has a blues song of his own. But then the unthinkable happens. Cool Papa Byrd dies, and Clayton's mother forbids Clayton from playing the blues. And Clayton knows that's no way to live.

Armed with his grandfather's brown porkpie hat and his harmonica, he runs away from home in search of the Bluesmen, hoping he can join them on the road. But on the journey that takes him through the New York City subways and to Washington Square Park, Clayton learns some things that surprise him.

National Book Award Finalist * Kirkus Best Books of 2017 * Horn Book Best Books of 2017 * Publishers Weekly Best Books of 2017 * School Library Journal Best Books of 2017 * NAACP Image Awards Youth/Teens Winner * Chicago Public Library Best Books * Boston Globe Best Books of 2017

This slim novel strikes a strong chord.--Publishers Weekly (starred review)

This complex tale of family and forgiveness has heart." --School Library Journal (starred review)

Strong characterizations and vivid musical scenes add layers to this warm family story." --Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"An appealing, realistic story with frequent elegant turns of phrase. --The Horn Book (starred review)

Garcia-Williams skillfully finds melody in words." --Booklist (starred review)

  Read Full Product Description
 
local_shippingFor Delivery
In Stock.
This item is Non-Returnable.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help
 
storeBuy Online Pickup At Store
search store by zipcode

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 42 copies from $2.99
 
 
 
 

More About Clayton Byrd Goes Underground by Rita Williams-Garcia; Frank Morrison

 
 
 

Overview

From beloved Newbery Honor winner and three-time Coretta Scott King Award winner Rita Williams-Garcia comes a powerful and heartfelt novel about loss, family, and love that will appeal to fans of Jason Reynolds and Kwame Alexander.

Clayton feels most alive when he's with his grandfather, Cool Papa Byrd, and the band of Bluesmen--he can't wait to join them, just as soon as he has a blues song of his own. But then the unthinkable happens. Cool Papa Byrd dies, and Clayton's mother forbids Clayton from playing the blues. And Clayton knows that's no way to live.

Armed with his grandfather's brown porkpie hat and his harmonica, he runs away from home in search of the Bluesmen, hoping he can join them on the road. But on the journey that takes him through the New York City subways and to Washington Square Park, Clayton learns some things that surprise him.

National Book Award Finalist * Kirkus Best Books of 2017 * Horn Book Best Books of 2017 * Publishers Weekly Best Books of 2017 * School Library Journal Best Books of 2017 * NAACP Image Awards Youth/Teens Winner * Chicago Public Library Best Books * Boston Globe Best Books of 2017

This slim novel strikes a strong chord.--Publishers Weekly (starred review)

This complex tale of family and forgiveness has heart." --School Library Journal (starred review)

Strong characterizations and vivid musical scenes add layers to this warm family story." --Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"An appealing, realistic story with frequent elegant turns of phrase. --The Horn Book (starred review)

Garcia-Williams skillfully finds melody in words." --Booklist (starred review)



This item is Non-Returnable.

 

Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780062215932
  • ISBN-10: 0062215930
  • Publisher: Quill Tree Books
  • Publish Date: May 2018
  • Page Count: 176
  • Reading Level: Ages 8-11
  • Dimensions: 7.5 x 5.1 x 0.5 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25 pounds


Related Categories

 

BAM Customer Reviews