menu

In Darkness, Look for Stars : An absolutely gripping, heartbreaking and epic World War 2 historical novel
by Clara Benson




Overview -

Paris, 1941: Going against her mother's orders, spirited Maggie devotes herself to the Resistance. Her life is a whirlwind of forged passports and secret midnight runs, helping Jews escape. Much to her high-society mother's disproval, she has fallen in love with Emil, a Jewish Resistance fighter, who is wanted by the Nazis.

The city is growing more dangerous by the day, with signs proclaiming 'No Jews' posted everywhere in the maze-like streets, and people dragged away in handcuffs. The forbidden lovers are forced to say goodbye - Emil going underground to escape capture.

Meanwhile, Maggie's sister Cecilia is hundreds of miles away, where the realities of war are yet to hit the serenity of the South of France. Innocent and shy Cecilia is shocked to the core when Emil turns up, seeking refuge. Her sheltered life turned upside down, Cecilia is thrown into the world of the Resistance, all the while sending coded letters to her sister, who every day awaits news of her fianc .

But with the Nazis closing in on them, their lives soon hang in the balance. Both sisters must decide where their loyalties lie - and how far they are willing to go to save themselves, and one another.

An evocative, riveting and stirring tale about the tragic realities of war, the fine line between loyalty and lies, and the power of love, even in the darkest of times. Fans of The Nightingale, The Letter and All The Light We Cannot See will be spellbound by this magnificent historical novel.

  Read Full Product Description
 
local_shippingFor Delivery
In Stock.
This item is Non-Returnable.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help
 
storeBuy Online Pickup At Store
search store by zipcode

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 4 copies from $12.13
 
 
 

More About In Darkness, Look for Stars by Clara Benson

 
 
 

Overview

Paris, 1941: Going against her mother's orders, spirited Maggie devotes herself to the Resistance. Her life is a whirlwind of forged passports and secret midnight runs, helping Jews escape. Much to her high-society mother's disproval, she has fallen in love with Emil, a Jewish Resistance fighter, who is wanted by the Nazis.

The city is growing more dangerous by the day, with signs proclaiming 'No Jews' posted everywhere in the maze-like streets, and people dragged away in handcuffs. The forbidden lovers are forced to say goodbye - Emil going underground to escape capture.

Meanwhile, Maggie's sister Cecilia is hundreds of miles away, where the realities of war are yet to hit the serenity of the South of France. Innocent and shy Cecilia is shocked to the core when Emil turns up, seeking refuge. Her sheltered life turned upside down, Cecilia is thrown into the world of the Resistance, all the while sending coded letters to her sister, who every day awaits news of her fianc .

But with the Nazis closing in on them, their lives soon hang in the balance. Both sisters must decide where their loyalties lie - and how far they are willing to go to save themselves, and one another.

An evocative, riveting and stirring tale about the tragic realities of war, the fine line between loyalty and lies, and the power of love, even in the darkest of times. Fans of The Nightingale, The Letter and All The Light We Cannot See will be spellbound by this magnificent historical novel.



This item is Non-Returnable.

 

Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781838882006
  • ISBN-10: 1838882006
  • Publisher: Bookouture
  • Publish Date: April 2020
  • Page Count: 390
  • Dimensions: 7.81 x 5.06 x 0.87 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.84 pounds


Related Categories

 

BAM Customer Reviews