menu

Discovering Wes Moore
by Wes Moore




Overview -

For fans of The Wire and Unbroken comes a story of two fatherless boys from Baltimore, both named Wes Moore. One is in prison, serving a life sentence for murder. The other is a Rhodes Scholar, an army veteran, and an author whose book is being turned into a movie produced by Oprah Winfrey.

The story of "the other Wes Moore" is one that the author couldn't get out of his mind, not since he learned that another boy with his name--just two years his senior--grew up in the same Baltimore neighborhood. He wrote that boy--now a man--a letter, not expecting to receive a reply. But a reply came, and a friendship grew, as letters turned into visits and the two men got to know each other. Eventually, that friendship became the inspiration for Discovering Wes Moore, a moving and cautionary tale examining the factors that contribute to success and failure--and the choices that make all the difference.

Two men. One overcame adversity. The other suffered the indignities of poverty. Their stories are chronicled in Discovering Wes Moore, a book for young people based on Wes Moore's bestselling adult memoir, The Other Wes Moore.

Includes an 8-page photo insert.

Praise for Discovering Wes Moore

"Moore wisely opens the door for teens to contemplate their own answers and beliefs, while laying out his own experiences honestly and openly."--Publishers Weekly

"He argues earnestly and convincingly that young people can overcome the obstacles in their lives when they make the right choices and accept the support of caring adults."--Kirkus Reviews

  Read Full Product Description
 
local_shippingFor Delivery
In Stock.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help
 
storeBuy Online Pickup At Store
search store by zipcode

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 74 copies from $3.45
 
Download

Format: EPUB What's this?
This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 

More About Discovering Wes Moore by Wes Moore

 
 
 

Overview

For fans of The Wire and Unbroken comes a story of two fatherless boys from Baltimore, both named Wes Moore. One is in prison, serving a life sentence for murder. The other is a Rhodes Scholar, an army veteran, and an author whose book is being turned into a movie produced by Oprah Winfrey.

The story of "the other Wes Moore" is one that the author couldn't get out of his mind, not since he learned that another boy with his name--just two years his senior--grew up in the same Baltimore neighborhood. He wrote that boy--now a man--a letter, not expecting to receive a reply. But a reply came, and a friendship grew, as letters turned into visits and the two men got to know each other. Eventually, that friendship became the inspiration for Discovering Wes Moore, a moving and cautionary tale examining the factors that contribute to success and failure--and the choices that make all the difference.

Two men. One overcame adversity. The other suffered the indignities of poverty. Their stories are chronicled in Discovering Wes Moore, a book for young people based on Wes Moore's bestselling adult memoir, The Other Wes Moore.

Includes an 8-page photo insert.

Praise for Discovering Wes Moore

"Moore wisely opens the door for teens to contemplate their own answers and beliefs, while laying out his own experiences honestly and openly."--Publishers Weekly

"He argues earnestly and convincingly that young people can overcome the obstacles in their lives when they make the right choices and accept the support of caring adults."--Kirkus Reviews


 

Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780385741682
  • ISBN-10: 0385741685
  • Publisher: Ember
  • Publish Date: September 2013
  • Page Count: 160
  • Reading Level: Ages 12-UP
  • Dimensions: 8.1 x 5.4 x 0.6 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.35 pounds


Related Categories

 

BAM Customer Reviews