menu

I Escaped The World's Deadliest Shark Attack
by Scott Peters and Ellie Crowe




Overview -
16-year-old Josh, a sailor and baseball fan, battles sharks and huge waves after a torpedo sinks the WWII USS Indianapolis.The Survival Series that celebrates the awesome history of us.

From multi-award-winning Ellie Crowe and Scott Peters comes a wild escape adventure based on the true story of the world's deadliest shark attack.


Short attention spans Chapter Book Ages 8-12 B&W Illustrations


16-year-old Josh is thrilled to be a WW2 sailor aboard the mighty USS Indianapolis. But when a Japanese torpedo strikes in the middle of the night, it tears the battleship in half. As the ship sinks, Josh is plunged deep into the black ocean. In horror, he watches the US navy ship begin its death plunge, threatening to pull him down with it. Josh is no swimmer. He's a baseball player from San Antonio, Texas. He's way out of his element. Soon, the first hungry shark begins to circle. Josh is living his worst nightmare, but for how long? Can he stay alive with no lifeboat or food in shark infested waters? Every hour is a fight because if he gives up, he'll never make it home. Can Josh survive the worst naval disaster in U.S. history?


This is the 3rd children's book in the I Escaped Series about brave boys and girls who face real-world challenges and find ways to escape disaster. Sure to appeal to fans of New York Times Bestseller Lauren Tarshis's I Survived Series and Great Battles For Boys by Joe Giorello.


The short chapters make for easy wins, and Josh's gripping situation keeps even reluctant readers turning pages just to find out what's going to happen next.


Great for kids book clubs and classrooms--a study guide is available at https: //scottpetersbooks.com/downloads/worksheets


Packed with a special section on facts about sharks for kids, World War 2 facts, information about the USS Indianapolis wreck and much more. Includes survivor quotes and photos.


An adrenaline-charged, nonstop action adventure tale of values and courage.



Collect the whole I Escaped Series


"a must for every reading list"


Can Josh survive disaster? Read it and find out

  Read Full Product Description
 
local_shippingFor Delivery
In Stock.
This item is Non-Returnable.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help
 
storeBuy Online Pickup At Store
search store by zipcode

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 7 copies from $9.72
 
 
 
 

More About I Escaped The World's Deadliest Shark Attack by Scott Peters; Ellie Crowe

 
 
 

Overview

16-year-old Josh, a sailor and baseball fan, battles sharks and huge waves after a torpedo sinks the WWII USS Indianapolis.The Survival Series that celebrates the awesome history of us.

From multi-award-winning Ellie Crowe and Scott Peters comes a wild escape adventure based on the true story of the world's deadliest shark attack.


Short attention spans Chapter Book Ages 8-12 B&W Illustrations


16-year-old Josh is thrilled to be a WW2 sailor aboard the mighty USS Indianapolis. But when a Japanese torpedo strikes in the middle of the night, it tears the battleship in half. As the ship sinks, Josh is plunged deep into the black ocean. In horror, he watches the US navy ship begin its death plunge, threatening to pull him down with it. Josh is no swimmer. He's a baseball player from San Antonio, Texas. He's way out of his element. Soon, the first hungry shark begins to circle. Josh is living his worst nightmare, but for how long? Can he stay alive with no lifeboat or food in shark infested waters? Every hour is a fight because if he gives up, he'll never make it home. Can Josh survive the worst naval disaster in U.S. history?


This is the 3rd children's book in the I Escaped Series about brave boys and girls who face real-world challenges and find ways to escape disaster. Sure to appeal to fans of New York Times Bestseller Lauren Tarshis's I Survived Series and Great Battles For Boys by Joe Giorello.


The short chapters make for easy wins, and Josh's gripping situation keeps even reluctant readers turning pages just to find out what's going to happen next.


Great for kids book clubs and classrooms--a study guide is available at https: //scottpetersbooks.com/downloads/worksheets


Packed with a special section on facts about sharks for kids, World War 2 facts, information about the USS Indianapolis wreck and much more. Includes survivor quotes and photos.


An adrenaline-charged, nonstop action adventure tale of values and courage.



Collect the whole I Escaped Series


"a must for every reading list"


Can Josh survive disaster? Read it and find out



This item is Non-Returnable.

 

Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781951019075
  • ISBN-10: 1951019075
  • Publisher: Best Day Books for Young Readers
  • Publish Date: September 2019
  • Page Count: 112
  • Reading Level: Ages 9-12
  • Dimensions: 9 x 6 x 0.27 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.39 pounds

Series: I Escaped #3

Related Categories

 

BAM Customer Reviews