Freaky in Fresno
by Laurie Boyle Crompton


Overview -

Wallflowers. Beauty queens. Film buffs. Drama queens. Have you ever wondered what it would be like to spend a day in her shoes? Two estranged cousins--geeky horror movie fanatic Ricki and makeup guru Lana--accidentally switch bodies for a fateful summer road trip that is part Freaky Friday, part romcom, and all heart.

Ricki has one goal: save the Starlight Drive-in movie theater from going dark forever. Okay, make that two goals ... she may also want a first kiss from her cinema-rescuing partner and major crush, Jake. Lana definitely has only one goal: grow her online makeup channel to keep her momager off her back, even if the posts attract ugly internet trolls.

The two cousins couldn't be more different, but their opposite personalities come crashing to a head when their aunt gifts the girls a vintage cotton-candy-pink convertible. To share. Ricki wants the convertible for the drive-in's grand reopening, but it's the same day as Digifest, a huge event where Lana needs to shine. After a major fight and a minor electric shock while wrestling over the wheel, Ricki wakes up as Lana, and Lana wakes up as Ricki.

Ricki and Lana have only a day to un-Freaky Friday themselves, a task made even more difficult as they try to keep up appearances on Lana's channel and with Ricki's hopefully-soon-to-be-kissed crush. But it turns out experiencing a day as each other--with a mini road trip and Chihuahua wrangling--may be the one thing that help the cousins see each other and themselves more clearly.

Freaky in Fresno

  • Addresses perennial topics such as the importance of family and friendship with a hilarious Freaky Friday twist
  • Pays homage to beloved 80s movies, cult horror classics, and scream queens like Jamie Lee Curtis; a must-read for YA readers of all ages
  • Is written by Laurie Boyle Crompton, author of Pretty in Punxsutawney
  • Is perfect for fans of Mary Rodgers and Morgan Matson

  Read Full Product Description
 
Hardcover
  • $18.99
  • 20% off for Members: Get the Club Price
    $ 15.19
Add to Cart
+ Add to Wishlist
PRE-ORDER NOW:
local_shippingFor Delivery
Preorder. This item will ship on February 11, 2020.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help
 
 
eBook
Retail Price: $14.26
$10.84

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

PREORDER NOW: Download on
February 11, 2020


This item is available only to U.S. and Canada billing addresses.
 
 
 

More About Freaky in Fresno by Laurie Boyle Crompton
 
 
 
Overview

Wallflowers. Beauty queens. Film buffs. Drama queens. Have you ever wondered what it would be like to spend a day in her shoes? Two estranged cousins--geeky horror movie fanatic Ricki and makeup guru Lana--accidentally switch bodies for a fateful summer road trip that is part Freaky Friday, part romcom, and all heart.

Ricki has one goal: save the Starlight Drive-in movie theater from going dark forever. Okay, make that two goals ... she may also want a first kiss from her cinema-rescuing partner and major crush, Jake. Lana definitely has only one goal: grow her online makeup channel to keep her momager off her back, even if the posts attract ugly internet trolls.

The two cousins couldn't be more different, but their opposite personalities come crashing to a head when their aunt gifts the girls a vintage cotton-candy-pink convertible. To share. Ricki wants the convertible for the drive-in's grand reopening, but it's the same day as Digifest, a huge event where Lana needs to shine. After a major fight and a minor electric shock while wrestling over the wheel, Ricki wakes up as Lana, and Lana wakes up as Ricki.

Ricki and Lana have only a day to un-Freaky Friday themselves, a task made even more difficult as they try to keep up appearances on Lana's channel and with Ricki's hopefully-soon-to-be-kissed crush. But it turns out experiencing a day as each other--with a mini road trip and Chihuahua wrangling--may be the one thing that help the cousins see each other and themselves more clearly.

Freaky in Fresno

  • Addresses perennial topics such as the importance of family and friendship with a hilarious Freaky Friday twist
  • Pays homage to beloved 80s movies, cult horror classics, and scream queens like Jamie Lee Curtis; a must-read for YA readers of all ages
  • Is written by Laurie Boyle Crompton, author of Pretty in Punxsutawney
  • Is perfect for fans of Mary Rodgers and Morgan Matson

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780310767473
  • ISBN-10: 0310767474
  • Publisher: Blink
  • Publish Date: February 2020
  • Page Count: 352
  • Reading Level: Ages 12-17


Related Categories

Books > Young Adult Fiction > Social Themes - Friendship
Books > Young Adult Fiction > Coming of Age
Books > Young Adult Fiction > Romance - Clean & Wholesome

 
BAM Customer Reviews