Genuine Negro Jig
The Carolina Chocolate Drops

local_shippingFor Delivery
In Stock.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help
storeBuy Online Pickup At Store
search store by zipcode


More About Genuine Negro Jig



Track Listing

1 Peace Behind the Bridge
2 Trouble in Your Mind
3 Your Baby Ain't Sweet Like Mine
4 Hit 'Em Up Style
5 Cornbread and Butterbeans
6 Snowden's Jig (Genuine Negro Jig)
7 Why Don't You Do Right?
8 Cindy Gal
9 Kissin' and Cussin'
10 Sandy Boys
11 Reynadine
12 Trampled Rose



  • Genre: Blues
  • Release Date: February 2010
  • Label: Nonesuch (USA)
  • Format: CD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Producer: Joe Henry
  • Engineer: Ryan Freeland

Music Reviews

Editorial Reviews

Rolling Stone (p.71) - "[The album] features exuberant treatments of antique party favors like 'Cornbread and Butterbeans' and 'Papa'..."

Spin (p.83) - "[T]oe-tapping versions of traditional tunes like 'Cindy Gal' peel away nostalgia to reveal a bracing vitality."

CMJ - "'Cindy Gal' is composed of loud fiddle and five-string banjo playing in conjunction with Dom Flemon's deep vocals..."

Mojo (Publisher) (p.99) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "[They] play old stringband music with both stylistic authenticity and modern sensibility..."

Paste (magazine) (p.55) - "[T]he trio spans from traditional arrangements to self-penned works and stringband makeovers of modern-day works..."


BAM Customer Reviews