menu
{ "item_title" : "The Gallery", "item_author" : [" Laura Marx Fitzgerald "], "item_description" : "A riveting historical art mystery for fans of Chasing Vermeer and The Westing Game, set in the Roaring Twenties It's 1929, and twelve-year-old Martha has no choice but to work as a maid in the New York City mansion of the wealthy Sewell family. But, despite the Gatsby-like parties and trimmings of success, she suspects something might be deeply wrong in the household--specifically with Rose Sewell, the formerly vivacious lady of the house who now refuses to leave her room. The other servants say Rose is crazy, but scrappy, strong-willed Martha thinks there's more to the story--and that the paintings in the Sewell's gallery contain a hidden message detailing the truth. But in a house filled with secrets, nothing is quite what it seems, and no one is who they say. Can Martha follow the clues, decipher the code, and solve the mystery of what's really going on with Rose Sewell? Inspired by true events described in a fascinating author's note, The Gallery is a 1920s caper told with humor and spunk that readers today will love. * This lively and inventive mystery successfully incorporates history, art, and literary classics. --Booklist, starred review", "item_img_path" : "https://covers2.booksamillion.com/covers/bam/0/14/242/770/0142427705_b.jpg", "price_data" : { "retail_price" : "7.99", "online_price" : "7.99", "our_price" : "7.99", "club_price" : "7.99", "savings_pct" : "0", "savings_amt" : "0.00", "club_savings_pct" : "0", "club_savings_amt" : "0.00", "discount_pct" : "10", "store_price" : "" } }
The Gallery|Laura Marx Fitzgerald
The Gallery
local_shippingFor Delivery
On Order. Usually ships in 2-4 weeks
This item is Non-Returnable.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help

Overview

A riveting historical art mystery for fans of Chasing Vermeer and The Westing Game, set in the Roaring Twenties

It's 1929, and twelve-year-old Martha has no choice but to work as a maid in the New York City mansion of the wealthy Sewell family. But, despite the Gatsby-like parties and trimmings of success, she suspects something might be deeply wrong in the household--specifically with Rose Sewell, the formerly vivacious lady of the house who now refuses to leave her room. The other servants say Rose is crazy, but scrappy, strong-willed Martha thinks there's more to the story--and that the paintings in the Sewell's gallery contain a hidden message detailing the truth. But in a house filled with secrets, nothing is quite what it seems, and no one is who they say. Can Martha follow the clues, decipher the code, and solve the mystery of what's really going on with Rose Sewell?

Inspired by true events described in a fascinating author's note, The Gallery is a 1920s caper told with humor and spunk that readers today will love.

* "This lively and inventive mystery successfully incorporates history, art, and literary classics." --Booklist, starred review

This item is Non-Returnable

  • ISBN-13: 9780142427705
  • ISBN-10: 0142427705
  • Publisher: Rocky Pond Books
  • Publish Date: June 2017
  • Dimensions: 7.7 x 5 x 1 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.55 pounds
  • Page Count: 352
  • Reading Level: Ages 10-UP