menu
{ "item_title" : "The Girl in the Striped Dress", "item_author" : [" Ellie Midwood "], "item_description" : "Auschwitz, 1942: This unforgettable novel, based on a true story, brings to life history's most powerful tale of forbidden love. Set within the barbed wire of Auschwitz, a man and a woman fall in love against unimaginable odds. What happens next will restore your faith in humanity, and make you believe in hope even where hope should not exist I won't let anything happen to you, he whispered, pressing a note into her hand. Her entire body trembled when she read it: I am in love with you. Helena steps off the cattle train onto the frozen grounds of Auschwitz. She has twenty-four hours to live. Scheduled to be killed tomorrow, she is not even tattooed with a prison number. As the snow falls around her, she shivers, knowing that she has been sentenced to death for a crime she didn't commit.When a gray-clad officer marches towards Helena and pulls her away, she fears the worst. Instead, he tells her that it's one of the guard's birthdays and orders her to serenade him. Inside the SS barracks the air is warm, thick with cigarette smoke and boisterous conversation. After she sings to the guard, Franz, he presses a piece of cake into her hands--the first thing she has eaten in days. On the spot, he orders her life to be saved, forever changing the course of her fate. What follows is a love story that was forbidden, that should have been impossible, and yet saved both of their lives--and hundreds of others--in more ways than one. Fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz, The Choice, and The Orphan Train will be utterly entranced by this unputdownable page-turner. This completely heartbreaking yet beautifully hopeful novel shows that love can survive anything and grow anywhere. This book was previously published as Auschwitz Syndrome. Readers love The Girl in the Striped Dress: Wow. Wow, wow, WOW. I almost have no words. This was an incredible, heart-wrenching read... Insanely captivating... I cried buckets reading this story... Wow... What a tale. I seriously can't get over this and I'm so glad I was able to read it. Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Wow Time to clear your schedule for the afternoon, coffee pot on and phone turned off--you won't want to put this one down. Avid Reader, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ I loved this... Wow This stopped me in my tracks and made me shed a tear. We must never ever forget... Stunning. Nicki's Book Blog, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐", "item_img_path" : "https://covers2.booksamillion.com/covers/bam/1/80/019/877/1800198779_b.jpg", "price_data" : { "retail_price" : "10.99", "online_price" : "10.99", "our_price" : "10.99", "club_price" : "10.99", "savings_pct" : "0", "savings_amt" : "0.00", "club_savings_pct" : "0", "club_savings_amt" : "0.00", "discount_pct" : "10", "store_price" : "" } }
The Girl in the Striped Dress|Ellie Midwood
The Girl in the Striped Dress : A completely heartbreaking and gripping World War 2 page-turner, based on a true story
local_shippingShip to Me
In Stock.
This item is Non-Returnable.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help

Overview

Auschwitz, 1942: This unforgettable novel, based on a true story, brings to life history's most powerful tale of forbidden love. Set within the barbed wire of Auschwitz, a man and a woman fall in love against unimaginable odds. What happens next will restore your faith in humanity, and make you believe in hope even where hope should not exist

"I won't let anything happen to you," he whispered, pressing a note into her hand. Her entire body trembled when she read it: I am in love with you.

Helena steps off the cattle train onto the frozen grounds of Auschwitz. She has twenty-four hours to live. Scheduled to be killed tomorrow, she is not even tattooed with a prison number. As the snow falls around her, she shivers, knowing that she has been sentenced to death for a crime she didn't commit.

When a gray-clad officer marches towards Helena and pulls her away, she fears the worst. Instead, he tells her that it's one of the guard's birthdays and orders her to serenade him.

Inside the SS barracks the air is warm, thick with cigarette smoke and boisterous conversation. After she sings to the guard, Franz, he presses a piece of cake into her hands--the first thing she has eaten in days. On the spot, he orders her life to be saved, forever changing the course of her fate.

What follows is a love story that was forbidden, that should have been impossible, and yet saved both of their lives--and hundreds of others--in more ways than one.

Fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz, The Choice, and The Orphan Train will be utterly entranced by this unputdownable page-turner. This completely heartbreaking yet beautifully hopeful novel shows that love can survive anything and grow anywhere.

This book was previously published as Auschwitz Syndrome.

Readers love The Girl in the Striped Dress:

"Wow. Wow, wow, WOW. I almost have no words. This was an incredible, heart-wrenching read... Insanely captivating... I cried buckets reading this story... Wow... What a tale. I seriously can't get over this and I'm so glad I was able to read it." Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

"Wow Time to clear your schedule for the afternoon, coffee pot on and phone turned off--you won't want to put this one down." Avid Reader, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

"I loved this... Wow This stopped me in my tracks and made me shed a tear. We must never ever forget... Stunning." Nicki's Book Blog, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

This item is Non-Returnable

Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781800198777
  • ISBN-10: 1800198779
  • Publisher: Bookouture
  • Publish Date: August 2021
  • Dimensions: 7.81 x 5.06 x 0.71 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.68 pounds
  • Page Count: 316

Related Categories

BAM Customer Reviews