Girl at War
by Sara Novic


Overview - For readers of The Tiger's Wife and All the Light We Cannot See comes a powerful debut novel about a girl's coming of age--and how her sense of family, friendship, love, and belonging is profoundly shaped by war.

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY BOOKPAGE, BOOKLIST, AND ELECTRIC LITERATURE - ALEX AWARD WINNER - LOS ANGELES TIMES BOOK PRIZE FINALIST - LONGLISTED FOR THE BAILEYS WOMEN'S PRIZE FOR FICTION

Zagreb, 1991.  Read more...


 
In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 

More About Girl at War by Sara Novic
 
 
 
Overview
For readers of The Tiger's Wife and All the Light We Cannot See comes a powerful debut novel about a girl's coming of age--and how her sense of family, friendship, love, and belonging is profoundly shaped by war.

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY BOOKPAGE, BOOKLIST, AND ELECTRIC LITERATURE - ALEX AWARD WINNER - LOS ANGELES TIMES BOOK PRIZE FINALIST - LONGLISTED FOR THE BAILEYS WOMEN'S PRIZE FOR FICTION

Zagreb, 1991. Ana Juric is a carefree ten-year-old, living with her family in a small apartment in Croatia's capital. But that year, civil war breaks out across Yugoslavia, splintering Ana's idyllic childhood. Daily life is altered by food rations and air raid drills, and soccer matches are replaced by sniper fire. Neighbors grow suspicious of one another, and Ana's sense of safety starts to fray. When the war arrives at her doorstep, Ana must find her way in a dangerous world.

New York, 2001. Ana is now a college student in Manhattan. Though she's tried to move on from her past, she can't escape her memories of war--secrets she keeps even from those closest to her. Haunted by the events that forever changed her family, Ana returns to Croatia after a decade away, hoping to make peace with the place she once called home. As she faces her ghosts, she must come to terms with her country's difficult history and the events that interrupted her childhood years before.

Moving back and forth through time, Girl at War is an honest, generous, brilliantly written novel that illuminates how history shapes the individual. Sara Novic fearlessly shows the impact of war on one young girl--and its legacy on all of us. It's a debut by a writer who has stared into recent history to find a story that continues to resonate today.

Praise for Girl at War

"Outstanding . . . Girl at War performs the miracle of making the stories of broken lives in a distant country feel as large and universal as myth."--The New York Times Book Review (Editor's Choice)

" An] old-fashioned page-turner that will demand all of the reader's attention, happily given. A debut novel that astonishes."--Vanity Fair

"Shattering . . . The book begins with what deserves to become one of contemporary literature's more memorable opening lines. The sentences that follow are equally as lyrical as a folk lament and as taut as metal wire wrapped through an electrified fence."--USA Today

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780812986396
  • ISBN-10: 0812986393
  • Publisher: Random House Trade
  • Publish Date: March 2016
  • Page Count: 368
  • Dimensions: 8 x 5.2 x 0.8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.64 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Fiction > Literary
Books > Fiction > Coming of Age
Books > Fiction > War & Military

 
BAM Customer Reviews