menu
{ "item_title" : "The Girls from See Saw Lane", "item_author" : [" Sandy Taylor "], "item_description" : "Brighton 1963. Mary Pickles and I walked along the street with our arms linked, looking in shop windows. We were best friends and together we were invincible. Dottie and Mary forged a friendship over a bag of penny sweets when they were eight years old. They've shared everything together since then - the highs and lows of school, family dramas, hopes and dreams and now, at seventeen, they're both shop girls, working at Woolworths. As they go out in the world in pursuit of love and happiness, the simplicity of their childhood dissolves as life becomes more complicated. The heady excitement of first love will consume them both, but the pain of unintentional betrayal will test their friendship in ways neither of them could ever imagine... A charming, heartbreaking and ultimately uplifting novel, which brings a bygone era vividly to life. Fans of Nadine Dorries, Mary Gibson and Pam Weaver will love The Girls from See Saw Lane. Counting Chimneys coming soon. 'I absolutely loved this book and couldn't put it down. It has all the ingredients for a perfect read: fantastic, loveable and very real characters, an emotional and compelling storyline, and a brilliant setting in time and place.' Louise Douglas 'This is one of the most endearing, yet heart-breaking, novels that I have encountered in quite some time and will certainly not soon forget. Taylor's writing style is a treasure to behold with her ability to draw a reader into the story in a very intimate manner. I felt as though Dottie's and Mary's characters were so well-developed and quickly felt as though I were visiting with old friends... Filled with unexpected twists and turns, you'll want to keep the box of tissues nearby... FIVE stars.' Kimberly's Bookshelf", "item_img_path" : "https://covers1.booksamillion.com/covers/bam/1/91/075/159/1910751596_b.jpg", "price_data" : { "retail_price" : "10.99", "online_price" : "10.99", "our_price" : "10.99", "club_price" : "10.99", "savings_pct" : "0", "savings_amt" : "0.00", "club_savings_pct" : "0", "club_savings_amt" : "0.00", "discount_pct" : "10", "store_price" : "" } }
The Girls from See Saw Lane|Sandy Taylor
The Girls from See Saw Lane : A Novel of Friendship, Love and Tragedy in 1960s Brighton
local_shippingShip to Me
In Stock.
This item is Non-Returnable.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help

Overview

Brighton 1963. Mary Pickles and I walked along the street with our arms linked, looking in shop windows. We were best friends and together we were invincible. Dottie and Mary forged a friendship over a bag of penny sweets when they were eight years old. They've shared everything together since then - the highs and lows of school, family dramas, hopes and dreams and now, at seventeen, they're both shop girls, working at Woolworths. As they go out in the world in pursuit of love and happiness, the simplicity of their childhood dissolves as life becomes more complicated. The heady excitement of first love will consume them both, but the pain of unintentional betrayal will test their friendship in ways neither of them could ever imagine... A charming, heartbreaking and ultimately uplifting novel, which brings a bygone era vividly to life. Fans of Nadine Dorries, Mary Gibson and Pam Weaver will love The Girls from See Saw Lane. Counting Chimneys coming soon. 'I absolutely loved this book and couldn't put it down. It has all the ingredients for a perfect read: fantastic, loveable and very real characters, an emotional and compelling storyline, and a brilliant setting in time and place.' Louise Douglas 'This is one of the most endearing, yet heart-breaking, novels that I have encountered in quite some time and will certainly not soon forget. Taylor's writing style is a treasure to behold with her ability to draw a reader into the story in a very intimate manner. I felt as though Dottie's and Mary's characters were so well-developed and quickly felt as though I were visiting with old friends... Filled with unexpected twists and turns, you'll want to keep the box of tissues nearby ... FIVE stars.' Kimberly's Bookshelf

This item is Non-Returnable

Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781910751596
  • ISBN-10: 1910751596
  • Publisher: Bookouture
  • Publish Date: December 2015
  • Dimensions: 7.81 x 5.06 x 0.73 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.75 pounds
  • Page Count: 350

Related Categories

BAM Customer Reviews