menu

The Grand Slam : Bobby Jones, America, and the Story of Golf
by Mark Frost




Overview -

Now in paperback, the Los Angeles Times bestseller that takes a riveting look at the life and times of golf legend Bobby Jones

In the wake of the stock market crash and the dawn of the Great Depression, a ray of light emerged from the world of sports in the summer of 1930. Bobby Jones, a 28-year-old amateur golfer, mounted a campaign against the record books. In four months, he conquered the British Amateur Championship, the British Open, the United States Open, and finally the United States Amateur Championship, an achievement so extraordinary that writers dubbed it the Grand Slam. No one has ever repeated it.

Mark Frost uses a wealth of original research to provide an unprecedented intimate portrait of golf great Bobby Jones. In the tradition of The Greatest Game Ever Played, The Grand Slam blends social history with sports biography, captivating the imagination and engaging the reader. The Grand Slam is a biography not to be missed.

  Read Full Product Description
 
local_shippingFor Delivery
In Stock.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help
 
storeBuy Online Pickup At Store
search store by zipcode

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 103 copies from $2.99
 
Download

Format: EPUB What's this?
This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About The Grand Slam by Mark Frost

 
 
 

Overview

Now in paperback, the Los Angeles Times bestseller that takes a riveting look at the life and times of golf legend Bobby Jones

In the wake of the stock market crash and the dawn of the Great Depression, a ray of light emerged from the world of sports in the summer of 1930. Bobby Jones, a 28-year-old amateur golfer, mounted a campaign against the record books. In four months, he conquered the British Amateur Championship, the British Open, the United States Open, and finally the United States Amateur Championship, an achievement so extraordinary that writers dubbed it the Grand Slam. No one has ever repeated it.

Mark Frost uses a wealth of original research to provide an unprecedented intimate portrait of golf great Bobby Jones. In the tradition of The Greatest Game Ever Played, The Grand Slam blends social history with sports biography, captivating the imagination and engaging the reader. The Grand Slam is a biography not to be missed.


 

Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781401307516
  • ISBN-10: 1401307515
  • Publisher: Hachette Books
  • Publish Date: September 2005
  • Page Count: 494
  • Reading Level: Ages 18-UP
  • Dimensions: 7.9 x 5.2 x 1.3 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.15 pounds


Related Categories

 

BAM Customer Reviews