menu

Grandfather's Journey
by Allen Say




Overview -
In this Caldecott Medal-winning picture book, master storyteller Allen Say chronicles his family's history between Japan and California. A lyrical, breathtaking tale of one man's love for two countries, Grandfather's Journey is perfect for fans of Dreamers, A Different Pond, and Thank You, Omu

Through pensive portraits and delicately faded art, Allen Say pays tribute to his grandfather's persistent longing for home that continues within Allen.

This restlessness and constant desire to be in two places speaks to a universal experience as well as the deeply personal ties of family to place, and what it means to be at home in more than one country.

Both a celebration of heritage and a poignant exploration of the struggles we inherit, Grandfather's Journey is a modern classic perfect for every household.

  Read Full Product Description
 
local_shippingFor Delivery
In Stock.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help
 
storeBuy Online Pickup At Store
search store by zipcode

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 63 copies from $3.47
 
 
 
 

More About Grandfather's Journey by Allen Say

 
 
 

Overview

In this Caldecott Medal-winning picture book, master storyteller Allen Say chronicles his family's history between Japan and California. A lyrical, breathtaking tale of one man's love for two countries, Grandfather's Journey is perfect for fans of Dreamers, A Different Pond, and Thank You, Omu

Through pensive portraits and delicately faded art, Allen Say pays tribute to his grandfather's persistent longing for home that continues within Allen.

This restlessness and constant desire to be in two places speaks to a universal experience as well as the deeply personal ties of family to place, and what it means to be at home in more than one country.

Both a celebration of heritage and a poignant exploration of the struggles we inherit, Grandfather's Journey is a modern classic perfect for every household.

 

Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780547076805
  • ISBN-10: 0547076800
  • Publisher: Houghton Mifflin
  • Publish Date: October 2008
  • Page Count: 32
  • Reading Level: Ages 4-7
  • Dimensions: 11.3 x 9.3 x 0.2 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.45 pounds


Related Categories

 

BAM Customer Reviews