menu

The Greatest Knight : The Unsung Story of the Queen's Champion
by Elizabeth Chadwick




Overview -

THE NEW YORK TIMES AND USA TODAY BESTSELLER

"The best writer of medieval fiction currently around."--Historical Novels Review

Royal protector. Loyal servant. Forgotten hero.

12th century, England: A penniless young knight with few prospects, William Marshal is plucked from obscurity when he saves the life of Henry II's formidable queen, Eleanor of Aquitaine. In gratitude, she appoints him tutor to the heir to the throne, the volatile and fickle Prince Henry. But being a royal favorite brings its share of danger and jealousy as well as fame and reward.

A writer of uncommon historical integrity and accuracy, Elizabeth Chadwick resurrects the true story of one of England's greatest forgotten heroes in a captivating blend of fact and fiction. The Greatest Knight restores William Marshal to his rightful place at the pinnacle of the British Middle Ages, reflecting through him the triumphs, scandals, and power struggles that haven't changed in eight hundred years.

Fans of Phillipa Gregory, Susanna Kearsley, or Diana Gabaldon are sure to recognize The Greatest Knight as exceptional historical fiction, bringing medieval Britain to brilliant life.

More Novels of Elizabeth Chadwick's William Marshal:
The Greatest Knight
The Scarlet Lion
For the King's Favor
Templar Silks
To Defy a King

  Read Full Product Description
 
local_shippingFor Delivery
Available. Ships in 2-4 weeks.
This item is Non-Returnable.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help
 
storeBuy Online Pickup At Store
search store by zipcode

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 28 copies from $4.91
 
 
 
 

More About The Greatest Knight by Elizabeth Chadwick

 
 
 

Overview

THE NEW YORK TIMES AND USA TODAY BESTSELLER

"The best writer of medieval fiction currently around."--Historical Novels Review

Royal protector. Loyal servant. Forgotten hero.

12th century, England: A penniless young knight with few prospects, William Marshal is plucked from obscurity when he saves the life of Henry II's formidable queen, Eleanor of Aquitaine. In gratitude, she appoints him tutor to the heir to the throne, the volatile and fickle Prince Henry. But being a royal favorite brings its share of danger and jealousy as well as fame and reward.

A writer of uncommon historical integrity and accuracy, Elizabeth Chadwick resurrects the true story of one of England's greatest forgotten heroes in a captivating blend of fact and fiction. The Greatest Knight restores William Marshal to his rightful place at the pinnacle of the British Middle Ages, reflecting through him the triumphs, scandals, and power struggles that haven't changed in eight hundred years.

Fans of Phillipa Gregory, Susanna Kearsley, or Diana Gabaldon are sure to recognize The Greatest Knight as exceptional historical fiction, bringing medieval Britain to brilliant life.

More Novels of Elizabeth Chadwick's William Marshal:
The Greatest Knight
The Scarlet Lion
For the King's Favor
Templar Silks
To Defy a King



This item is Non-Returnable.

 

Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781402225185
  • ISBN-10: 1402225180
  • Publisher: Sourcebooks Landmark
  • Publish Date: September 2009
  • Page Count: 549
  • Dimensions: 8.1 x 5.2 x 1.6 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.25 pounds

Series: William Marshal

Related Categories

 

BAM Customer Reviews