)
Half of What You Hear
by Kristyn Kusek Lewis


Overview -

"Perfect for fans of Big Little Lies ." - Kirkus

7 December Books You'll Tear Through Faster Than the Wrapping On Your Holiday Gifts, InStyle

8 Books We Can't Wait to Read in December, PureWow

8 Unbelievable Books to Read December 2018, Women.com

From well-loved women's fiction writer Kristyn Kusek Lewis comes a breakout novel about a woman moving to a small community and uncovering the many secrets that hide behind closed doors--perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty and Elin Hilderbrand.  Read more...


 
In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 57 copies from $6.55
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. and Canada billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About Half of What You Hear by Kristyn Kusek Lewis
 
 
 
Overview

"Perfect for fans of Big Little Lies." -Kirkus

7 December Books You'll Tear Through Faster Than the Wrapping On Your Holiday Gifts, InStyle

8 Books We Can't Wait to Read in December, PureWow

8 Unbelievable Books to Read December 2018, Women.com

From well-loved women's fiction writer Kristyn Kusek Lewis comes a breakout novel about a woman moving to a small community and uncovering the many secrets that hide behind closed doors--perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty and Elin Hilderbrand.

Greyhill, Virginia--refuge of old money, old mansions, and old-fashioned ideas about who belongs and who doesn't--just got a few new residents. When Bess Warner arrives in town with her husband Cole and their kids, she thinks she knows what to expect. Sure, moving to Cole's small hometown means she'll have to live across the street from her mother-in-law, and yes, there's going to be a lot to learn as they take over Cole's family's inn-keeping business, but Bess believes it will be the perfect escape from Washington. She needs it to be. After losing her White House job under a cloud of scandal, she hardly knows who she is anymore.

But Bess quickly discovers that fitting in is easier said than done. Instead of the simpler life she'd banked on, she finds herself preoccupied by barbed questions from gossipy locals and her own worries over how her twins are acclimating at the town's elite private school. When the opportunity to write an article for the Washington Post's lifestyle supplement falls into Bess's lap, she thinks it might finally be her opportunity to find her footing here...even if the subject of the piece is Greyhill's most notorious resident.

Susannah "Cricket" Lane, fruit of the town's deepest-rooted family tree, is a special sort of outsider, having just returned to Greyhill from New York after a decades-long hiatus. The long absence has always been the subject of suspicion, not that the eccentric Susannah cares what anyone thinks; as a matter of fact, she seems bent on antagonizing as many people as possible. But is Susannah being sincere with Bess--or is she using their strangely intense interview sessions for her to further an agenda that includes peeling back the layers of Greyhill's darkest secrets?

As Bess discovers unsettling truths about Susannah and Greyhill at large, ones that bring her into the secrets of prior generations, she begins to learn how difficult it is to start over in a town that runs on talk, and that sometimes, the best way to find yourself is to uncover what everyone around you is hiding....


 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780062673350
  • ISBN-10: 0062673351
  • Publisher: Harper Paperbacks
  • Publish Date: December 2018
  • Page Count: 384
  • Dimensions: 8 x 5.4 x 1.1 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.6 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Fiction > Women
Books > Fiction > Family Life - General
Books > Fiction > Psychological

 
BAM Customer Reviews