menu

Heartbreak Cafe
by Penelope J. Stokes




Overview -
A touching novel full of Southern comfort for fans of Joshilyn Jackson and Fannie Flagg.

Dell Haley's mama always said there were two things a man couldn't get enough of: good cookin' and good lovin'. Well, Dell knows she's got the cookin' down pat, but her husband is getting more than his fair share of lovin'-in another woman's bed. And when he dies there, Dell's predictable life comes to a screeching halt. Short on money and education, Dell turns to the one thing that has never let her down: her cooking. For the first time in her life, Dell takes a huge risk and opens a restaurant in a derelict diner on the west end of town. The cafe gradually becomes a gathering place for a motley crew of people who become Dell's family. And yet, even as her life becomes more solid, Dell is plagued by the memory of her husband's betrayal-but the answers she seeks may have a higher price than she's willing to pay.

  Read Full Product Description
 
local_shippingFor Delivery
On Order. Usually ships in 2-4 weeks
This item is Non-Returnable.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help
 
storeBuy Online Pickup At Store
search store by zipcode

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 19 copies from $3.45
 
 
 

More About Heartbreak Cafe by Penelope J. Stokes

 
 
 

Overview

A touching novel full of Southern comfort for fans of Joshilyn Jackson and Fannie Flagg.

Dell Haley's mama always said there were two things a man couldn't get enough of: good cookin' and good lovin'. Well, Dell knows she's got the cookin' down pat, but her husband is getting more than his fair share of lovin'-in another woman's bed. And when he dies there, Dell's predictable life comes to a screeching halt. Short on money and education, Dell turns to the one thing that has never let her down: her cooking. For the first time in her life, Dell takes a huge risk and opens a restaurant in a derelict diner on the west end of town. The cafe gradually becomes a gathering place for a motley crew of people who become Dell's family. And yet, even as her life becomes more solid, Dell is plagued by the memory of her husband's betrayal-but the answers she seeks may have a higher price than she's willing to pay.


This item is Non-Returnable.

 

Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780425228449
  • ISBN-10: 0425228444
  • Publisher: Berkley Books
  • Publish Date: August 2009
  • Page Count: 310
  • Reading Level: Ages 18-UP
  • Dimensions: 7.98 x 5.14 x 0.81 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.54 pounds


Related Categories

 

BAM Customer Reviews