How We Disappeared
by Jing-Jing Lee


Overview - *A Library Journal "Emerging Stars" Pick*A mesmerizing novel of World War II Singapore, "a story about memory, trauma, and ultimately love" (New York Times)--for fans of Pachinko and We Were the Lucky OnesSingapore, 1942. As Japanese troops sweep down Malaysia and into Singapore, a village is ransacked, leaving only two survivors and one tiny child.In a neighboring village, seventeen-year-old Wang Di is strapped into the back of a troop carrier and shipped off to a Japanese military brothel where she is forced into sexual slavery as a "comfort woman." After sixty years of silence, what she saw and experienced still haunts her.In the year 2000, twelve-year-old Kevin is sitting beside his ailing grandmother when he overhears a mumbled confession. He sets out to discover the truth, wherever it might lead, setting in motion a chain of events he never could have foreseen.Weaving together two time lines and two very big secrets, this stunning debut opens a window on a little-known period of history, revealing the strength and bravery shown by numerous women in the face of terrible cruelty. Drawing in part on her family's experiences, Jing-Jing Lee has crafted a profoundly moving, unforgettable novel about human resilience, the bonds of family and the courage it takes to confront the past.

  Read Full Product Description
 
In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About How We Disappeared by Jing-Jing Lee
 
 
 
Overview
*A Library Journal "Emerging Stars" Pick*A mesmerizing novel of World War II Singapore, "a story about memory, trauma, and ultimately love" (New York Times)--for fans of Pachinko and We Were the Lucky OnesSingapore, 1942. As Japanese troops sweep down Malaysia and into Singapore, a village is ransacked, leaving only two survivors and one tiny child.In a neighboring village, seventeen-year-old Wang Di is strapped into the back of a troop carrier and shipped off to a Japanese military brothel where she is forced into sexual slavery as a "comfort woman." After sixty years of silence, what she saw and experienced still haunts her.In the year 2000, twelve-year-old Kevin is sitting beside his ailing grandmother when he overhears a mumbled confession. He sets out to discover the truth, wherever it might lead, setting in motion a chain of events he never could have foreseen.Weaving together two time lines and two very big secrets, this stunning debut opens a window on a little-known period of history, revealing the strength and bravery shown by numerous women in the face of terrible cruelty. Drawing in part on her family's experiences, Jing-Jing Lee has crafted a profoundly moving, unforgettable novel about human resilience, the bonds of family and the courage it takes to confront the past.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781335953759
  • ISBN-10: 1335953752
  • Publisher: Hanover Square Press
  • Publish Date: May 2019
  • Page Count: 352
  • Dimensions: 9.3 x 6.2 x 1.2 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.1 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Fiction > Historical - World War II
Books > Fiction > Literary
Books > Fiction > Women

 
BAM Customer Reviews