Hummingbirds
by Joshua Gaylord


Overview -

"Those of us who love Muriel Spark's The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie will now have to make room next to it on our shelves for Joshua Gaylord's winning debut." --Brock Clarke, author of An Arsonist's Guide to Writers' Homes in New England

"Hummingbirds positively glistens with erudition and insight. Whether writing about prep school girls or the adult men who walk among them, Gaylord's stunning writing elevates his subject matter with equal parts humanity and elegance." --Jonathan Tropper, author of This Is Where I Leave You

In the tradition of Francine Prose's Blue Angel, Curtis Sittenfeld's Prep, and Alan Bennett's The History Boys, Joshua Gaylord's Hummingbirds reveals the intertwining--and darkly surprising--relationships between secretive students and teachers at an all-girls prep school in New York City.

  Read Full Product Description
 
Paperback
  • $14.99
  • 20% off for Members: Get the Club Price
    $ 11.99
Add to Cart
+ Add to Wishlist
local_shippingFor Delivery
In Stock.
This item is Non-Returnable.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help
 
storeBuy Online Pickup In Store
search store by zipcode

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 27 copies from $2.99
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About Hummingbirds by Joshua Gaylord
 
 
 
Overview

"Those of us who love Muriel Spark's The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie will now have to make room next to it on our shelves for Joshua Gaylord's winning debut." --Brock Clarke, author of An Arsonist's Guide to Writers' Homes in New England

"Hummingbirds positively glistens with erudition and insight. Whether writing about prep school girls or the adult men who walk among them, Gaylord's stunning writing elevates his subject matter with equal parts humanity and elegance." --Jonathan Tropper, author of This Is Where I Leave You

In the tradition of Francine Prose's Blue Angel, Curtis Sittenfeld's Prep, and Alan Bennett's The History Boys, Joshua Gaylord's Hummingbirds reveals the intertwining--and darkly surprising--relationships between secretive students and teachers at an all-girls prep school in New York City.



This item is Non-Returnable.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780061769023
  • ISBN-10: 0061769029
  • Publisher: Harper Perennial
  • Publish Date: October 2010
  • Page Count: 342
  • Dimensions: 7.88 x 5.28 x 0.9 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.62 pounds

Series: P.S.

Related Categories

Books > Fiction > Psychological

 
BAM Customer Reviews