menu

The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett
by Chelsea Sedoti




Overview -

From bestselling author Chelsea Sedoti comes a comedic young adult mystery with "one of the most relatable characters in recent young adult literature" (Book Page), perfect for fans of John Green and Jandy Nelson. Hawthorn Creely's not one to get involved in other people's business. But a missing person's investigation? That's another matter...

Hawthorn wasn't trying to insert herself into a missing person's investigation. Or maybe she was. But that's only because Lizzie Lovett's disappearance is the one fascinating mystery their sleepy town has ever had. Bad things don't happen to popular girls like Lizzie Lovett, and Hawthorn is convinced she'll turn up at any moment--which means the time for speculation is now.

So Hawthorn comes up with her own theory for Lizzie's disappearance. A theory way too absurd to take seriously...at first. The more Hawthorn talks, the more she believes. And what better way to collect evidence than to immerse herself in Lizzie's life? Like getting a job at the diner where Lizzie worked and hanging out with Lizzie's boyfriend. After all, it's not as if he killed her--or did he?

Told with a unique voice that is both hilarious and heart-wrenching, Hawthorn's quest for proof may uncover the greatest truth is within herself.

Perfect for buyers looking for:

  • funny books for teens
  • character-driven coming-of-age stories
  • the young adult books best sellers 2017

Also by Chelsea Sedoti:
It Came from the Sky
As You Wish

Praise for The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett:
"A dark, comedic mystery about a girl's quest for proof that ultimately helps her discover some truths about herself. We officially love Hawthorn. O]ffbeat, smart and awesome."--Justine Magazine
"Sedoti's debut offers an enlightening look at the dangers of relying on outward appearances to judge someone's character, and Hawthorn's first-person narrative, filled with obsessive thoughts and, eventually, meaningful reflection, is a lively, engaging vehicle for the story... Fans of character-driven novels will appreciate this."--Booklist
"Hawthorn and Lizzie both emerge as surprising, intricate characters whose stories are resonant and memorable."--Publishers Weekly
"Hawthorn is an engaging young woman with a vivid imagination...With an interesting and diverse supporting cast, this novel is full of topics that are relevant to teens: bullying, self-esteem, family dynamics, and suicide. Highly recommended."--Shelf Awarenes

  Read Full Product Description
 
local_shippingFor Delivery
In Stock.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help
 
storeBuy Online Pickup At Store
search store by zipcode

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 19 copies from $3.25
 
 
 
 

More About The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett by Chelsea Sedoti

 
 
 

Overview

From bestselling author Chelsea Sedoti comes a comedic young adult mystery with "one of the most relatable characters in recent young adult literature" (Book Page), perfect for fans of John Green and Jandy Nelson. Hawthorn Creely's not one to get involved in other people's business. But a missing person's investigation? That's another matter...

Hawthorn wasn't trying to insert herself into a missing person's investigation. Or maybe she was. But that's only because Lizzie Lovett's disappearance is the one fascinating mystery their sleepy town has ever had. Bad things don't happen to popular girls like Lizzie Lovett, and Hawthorn is convinced she'll turn up at any moment--which means the time for speculation is now.

So Hawthorn comes up with her own theory for Lizzie's disappearance. A theory way too absurd to take seriously...at first. The more Hawthorn talks, the more she believes. And what better way to collect evidence than to immerse herself in Lizzie's life? Like getting a job at the diner where Lizzie worked and hanging out with Lizzie's boyfriend. After all, it's not as if he killed her--or did he?

Told with a unique voice that is both hilarious and heart-wrenching, Hawthorn's quest for proof may uncover the greatest truth is within herself.

Perfect for buyers looking for:

  • funny books for teens
  • character-driven coming-of-age stories
  • the young adult books best sellers 2017

Also by Chelsea Sedoti:
It Came from the Sky
As You Wish

Praise for The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett:
"A dark, comedic mystery about a girl's quest for proof that ultimately helps her discover some truths about herself. We officially love Hawthorn. O]ffbeat, smart and awesome."--Justine Magazine
"Sedoti's debut offers an enlightening look at the dangers of relying on outward appearances to judge someone's character, and Hawthorn's first-person narrative, filled with obsessive thoughts and, eventually, meaningful reflection, is a lively, engaging vehicle for the story... Fans of character-driven novels will appreciate this."--Booklist
"Hawthorn and Lizzie both emerge as surprising, intricate characters whose stories are resonant and memorable."--Publishers Weekly
"Hawthorn is an engaging young woman with a vivid imagination...With an interesting and diverse supporting cast, this novel is full of topics that are relevant to teens: bullying, self-esteem, family dynamics, and suicide. Highly recommended."--Shelf Awarenes


 

Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781492652755
  • ISBN-10: 149265275X
  • Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire
  • Publish Date: December 2017
  • Page Count: 416
  • Reading Level: Ages 14-17
  • Dimensions: 8.2 x 5.5 x 0.9 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.88 pounds


Related Categories

 

BAM Customer Reviews