menu

Hungry
by H. A. Swain




Overview -

In the future, food is gone.

In Thalia's world, there is no more food and no need for food, as everyone takes medication to ward off hunger. Her parents both work for the company that developed the drugs society consumes to quell any food cravings, and they live a life of privilege as a result. When Thalia meets a boy who is part of an underground movement to bring food back, she realizes that there is an entire world outside her own. She also starts to feel hunger, and so does the boy. Are the meds no longer working?

Together, they set out to find the only thing that will quell their hunger: real food. It's a journey that will change everything Thalia thought she knew. But can a privy like her ever truly be part of a revolution?

Hungry by H. A. Swain is a fascinating and fast-paced look at a near future world, part thriller, part science fiction, and part romance. H. A. Swain is also the author of the young adult novel Gifted.

Swain's near-futuristic dystopia explodes onto this well-trod genre with a fresh idea, tense plotting, and relatable characters. . . . Fans of Margaret Atwood's The Handmaid's Tale and Lois Lowry's The Giver will flock to this story --School Library Journal

"Compelling . . . A female protagonist who isn't staunch, heroic, and perfect is increasingly rare in dystopias, so Thalia's fumbling around for the right path is refreshingly different." --The Bulletin

"An alluring adventure in a future without food . . . Emotionally satisfying." --Kirkus Reviews

  Read Full Product Description
 
local_shippingFor Delivery
Earliest ship date: August 2, 2021
This item is Non-Returnable.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help
 
storeBuy Online Pickup At Store
search store by zipcode

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 35 copies from $2.99
 
 
 

More About Hungry by H. A. Swain

 
 
 

Overview

In the future, food is gone.

In Thalia's world, there is no more food and no need for food, as everyone takes medication to ward off hunger. Her parents both work for the company that developed the drugs society consumes to quell any food cravings, and they live a life of privilege as a result. When Thalia meets a boy who is part of an underground movement to bring food back, she realizes that there is an entire world outside her own. She also starts to feel hunger, and so does the boy. Are the meds no longer working?

Together, they set out to find the only thing that will quell their hunger: real food. It's a journey that will change everything Thalia thought she knew. But can a privy like her ever truly be part of a revolution?

Hungry by H. A. Swain is a fascinating and fast-paced look at a near future world, part thriller, part science fiction, and part romance. H. A. Swain is also the author of the young adult novel Gifted.

Swain's near-futuristic dystopia explodes onto this well-trod genre with a fresh idea, tense plotting, and relatable characters. . . . Fans of Margaret Atwood's The Handmaid's Tale and Lois Lowry's The Giver will flock to this story --School Library Journal

"Compelling . . . A female protagonist who isn't staunch, heroic, and perfect is increasingly rare in dystopias, so Thalia's fumbling around for the right path is refreshingly different." --The Bulletin

"An alluring adventure in a future without food . . . Emotionally satisfying." --Kirkus Reviews



This item is Non-Returnable.

 

Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781250063083
  • ISBN-10: 1250063086
  • Publisher: Square Fish
  • Publish Date: June 2015
  • Page Count: 384
  • Reading Level: Ages 13-18
  • Dimensions: 8.2 x 5.4 x 1 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.7 pounds


Related Categories

 

BAM Customer Reviews