menu
I'll Give You the Sun|Jandy Nelson
I'll Give You the Sun
local_shippingFor Delivery
In Stock.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help

Overview

A New York Times bestseller - One of Time Magazine's 100 Best YA Books of All Time - Winner of the Michael L. Printz Award - A Stonewall Honor Book

The radiant, award-winning story of first love, family, loss, and betrayal for fans of John Green, Becky Albertalli, and Adam Silvera

Dazzling. --The New York Times Book Review
A blazing prismatic explosion of color. --Entertainment Weekly
Powerful and well-crafted . . . Stunning. --Time Magazine

"We were all heading for each other on a collision course, no matter what. Maybe some people are just meant to be in the same story."

At first, Jude and her twin brother are NoahandJude; inseparable. Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude wears red-red lipstick, cliff-dives, and does all the talking for both of them.

Years later, they are barely speaking. Something has happened to change the twins in different yet equally devastating ways . . . but then Jude meets an intriguing, irresistible boy and a mysterious new mentor.

The early years are Noah's to tell; the later years are Jude's. But they each have only half the story, and if they can only find their way back to one another, they'll have a chance to remake their world.

This radiant, award-winning novel from the acclaimed author of The Sky Is Everywhere will leave you breathless and teary and laughing--often all at once.

 

  • ISBN-13: 9780803734968
  • ISBN-10: 0803734964
  • Publisher: Dial Books
  • Publish Date: September 2014
  • Dimensions: 9.25 x 6.25 x 1.2 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.3 pounds
  • Page Count: 384
  • Reading Level: Ages 14-17

The wedge of sibling rivalry

Thirteen-year-old twins Noah and Jude are so close, they “smush,” pushing themselves together, shoulder to shoulder, exactly as they did in utero. Noah is dreamy and artistic, while his sister Jude is fearless and popular. When their mother announces that both twins should attend CSA, a nearby fine arts high school, Noah is elated, but Jude is less than enthusiastic, as she fears that Noah’s talent far outweighs her own. Three years later, Jude is now attending CSA, but Noah was not accepted. The once-fierce love between the twins has morphed into fierce hatred.

The narration alternates between the perspectives of 13-year-old Noah and 16-year-old Jude, and the twins unwittingly move in tandem despite their estrangement. They both do something unforgivable. They both fall in love. Nelson provides just enough pieces of past and future but withholds some delightful twists for the end. This is a beautifully written story.

 

This article was originally published in the September 2014 issue of BookPage. Download the entire issue for the Kindle or Nook.