menu

The Island Girls : A heartbreaking historical novel
by Noelle Harrison




Overview -

I guess our life on the island was one which never fit you right. I like to imagine you some days when I look out the window across the harbour, all those miles of sea and land between us. But, sister, we are always connected.

When young nurse Emer loses her beloved sister, she is haunted by grief and desperate to escape her memories. Taking a job in Vinalhaven, a rocky outpost in the wild Atlantic, feels like the refuge she so badly needs.

Her patient, Susannah, has lived in isolation for many years, since the tragic death of her sister Kate caused her to withdraw from island life. However, when Emer discovers a bundle of letters in a rainbow quilt in her bedroom and shares the story of her own loss, Susannah opens up. She begins to tell the story of Kate's brutal and secret past, and her marriage to a man with a heart as cold as the ocean.

But when Emer starts asking locals about Kate, the island air sizzles with hostility. There are people who would rather that Susannah kept quiet, who have no qualms about threatening Emer. But despite the warnings to stay away, Emer is determined to find out what really happened the night Kate died - and the final secret that is keeping Susannah a prisoner to the past.

An unputdownable and unforgettable story of impossible choices and two sisters who would do anything for one another. Set on a bewitching sea-scented island, The Island Girls will burrow into your heart. Perfect for fans of Lisa Wingate, Anita Shreve and The Light Between Oceans.

What everyone's saying about The Island Girls:

'This book was so good. I didn't want to put it down The characters were well rounded, and the storyline sucked you into it and made you feel like you were really there. The author did a great job telling this story.' Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'Highly enjoyed this wonderful, warm and inviting read, good story line, excellent characters - makes a great book.' Goodreads Reviewer

'A compelling story about the love between sisters... hard to put down from beginning to end.' Goodreads Reviewer

'I am a sucker for stories that take place on just about any coast. Add in some family drama and I am hooked. This novel did not disappoint me. There are many story lines all going on at once, including differing time periods, points of view, and locations, yet I never got lost. ... As each layer of each story is removed, I felt closer to the characters, and the locale is at times a character by itself. This story is a good roadmap of how families can drive us crazy while drawing us close at the same time.' Spinning Cracked Plates

'This was my first book from this author, and I intend to read more.' Goodreads Reviewer

Readers are gripped by Noelle Harrison's writing:

'A life-affirming read with wonderful characters and beautiful writing. It is a compelling and engaging story that grips you from the start.' Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

  Read Full Product Description
 
local_shippingFor Delivery
In Stock.
This item is Non-Returnable.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help
 
storeBuy Online Pickup At Store
search store by zipcode

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 7 copies from $9.99
 
 
 

More About The Island Girls by Noelle Harrison

 
 
 

Overview

I guess our life on the island was one which never fit you right. I like to imagine you some days when I look out the window across the harbour, all those miles of sea and land between us. But, sister, we are always connected.

When young nurse Emer loses her beloved sister, she is haunted by grief and desperate to escape her memories. Taking a job in Vinalhaven, a rocky outpost in the wild Atlantic, feels like the refuge she so badly needs.

Her patient, Susannah, has lived in isolation for many years, since the tragic death of her sister Kate caused her to withdraw from island life. However, when Emer discovers a bundle of letters in a rainbow quilt in her bedroom and shares the story of her own loss, Susannah opens up. She begins to tell the story of Kate's brutal and secret past, and her marriage to a man with a heart as cold as the ocean.

But when Emer starts asking locals about Kate, the island air sizzles with hostility. There are people who would rather that Susannah kept quiet, who have no qualms about threatening Emer. But despite the warnings to stay away, Emer is determined to find out what really happened the night Kate died - and the final secret that is keeping Susannah a prisoner to the past.

An unputdownable and unforgettable story of impossible choices and two sisters who would do anything for one another. Set on a bewitching sea-scented island, The Island Girls will burrow into your heart. Perfect for fans of Lisa Wingate, Anita Shreve and The Light Between Oceans.

What everyone's saying about The Island Girls:

'This book was so good. I didn't want to put it down The characters were well rounded, and the storyline sucked you into it and made you feel like you were really there. The author did a great job telling this story.' Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'Highly enjoyed this wonderful, warm and inviting read, good story line, excellent characters - makes a great book.' Goodreads Reviewer

'A compelling story about the love between sisters... hard to put down from beginning to end.' Goodreads Reviewer

'I am a sucker for stories that take place on just about any coast. Add in some family drama and I am hooked. This novel did not disappoint me. There are many story lines all going on at once, including differing time periods, points of view, and locations, yet I never got lost. ... As each layer of each story is removed, I felt closer to the characters, and the locale is at times a character by itself. This story is a good roadmap of how families can drive us crazy while drawing us close at the same time.' Spinning Cracked Plates

'This was my first book from this author, and I intend to read more.' Goodreads Reviewer

Readers are gripped by Noelle Harrison's writing:

'A life-affirming read with wonderful characters and beautiful writing. It is a compelling and engaging story that grips you from the start.' Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐



This item is Non-Returnable.

 

Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781838881771
  • ISBN-10: 1838881778
  • Publisher: Bookouture
  • Publish Date: April 2020
  • Page Count: 312
  • Dimensions: 7.81 x 5.06 x 0.7 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.67 pounds


Related Categories

 

BAM Customer Reviews