menu
{ "item_title" : "It's Lonely at the Centre of the Earth", "item_author" : [" Zoe Thorogood", "Zoe Thorogood "], "item_description" : "A provacative graphic memoir perfect for fans of Allie Brosh's Solutions and Other Problems - Thorogood is the winner of the 2023 Russ Manning Most Promising Newcomer Award- Nominated for two 2023 Eisner Awards in the Best Graphic Memoir and Best Writer/Artist categories- Winner of the 2023 Ringo Award in the Best Graphic Novel category- Included in Forbes' The Best Graphic Novels of 2022 list The 2023 Russ Manning Most Promising Newcomer Award winning cartoonist, Zoe Thorogood (writer and artist of The Impending Blindness of Billie Scott, artist on Joe Hill's Rain graphic novelisation), records six months of her own life as it falls apart in a desperate attempt to put it back together again in the only way she knows how. It's Lonely at the Centre of the Earth is an intimate and meta-narrative look into the life of a selfish artist who must create for her own survival. A poignant and original depiction of a young woman's struggle with mental health--through the ups and downs of anxiety, depression, and imposter syndrome--as she forges a promising career in sequential art and finds herself along the way. Select praise for It's Lonely at the Centre of the Earth: Thorogood elevates the dark material with her expressive use of the comics medium and the urgency of her voice. One to watch for the 2020s. --Forbes This has the force of a fist punching through the page. --Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) Thorogood taps into sensation and the way that it is experienced in a way that is unlike anything I've seen before. It's astonishing. --AIPT Tragic, funny and disturbing. --Connecticut Public Radio/NPR Unflinchingly stark and personal. --The Guardian UK", "item_img_path" : "https://covers2.booksamillion.com/covers/bam/1/53/432/386/1534323864_b.jpg", "price_data" : { "retail_price" : "12.99", "online_price" : "12.99", "our_price" : "12.99", "club_price" : "12.99", "savings_pct" : "0", "savings_amt" : "0.00", "club_savings_pct" : "0", "club_savings_amt" : "0.00", "discount_pct" : "10", "store_price" : "" } }
It's Lonely at the Centre of the Earth|Zoe Thorogood
It's Lonely at the Centre of the Earth
local_shippingShip to Me
In Stock.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help

Overview

A provacative graphic memoir perfect for fans of Allie Brosh's Solutions and Other Problems - Thorogood is the winner of the 2023 Russ Manning Most Promising Newcomer Award
- Nominated for two 2023 Eisner Awards in the Best Graphic Memoir and Best Writer/Artist categories
- Winner of the 2023 Ringo Award in the Best Graphic Novel category
- Included in Forbes' "The Best Graphic Novels of 2022" list
The 2023 Russ Manning Most Promising Newcomer Award winning cartoonist, Zoe Thorogood (writer and artist of The Impending Blindness of Billie Scott, artist on Joe Hill's Rain graphic novelisation), records six months of her own life as it falls apart in a desperate attempt to put it back together again in the only way she knows how. It's Lonely at the Centre of the Earth is an intimate and meta-narrative look into the life of a selfish artist who must create for her own survival. A poignant and original depiction of a young woman's struggle with mental health--through the ups and downs of anxiety, depression, and imposter syndrome--as she forges a promising career in sequential art and finds herself along the way. Select praise for It's Lonely at the Centre of the Earth: "Thorogood elevates the dark material with her expressive use of the comics medium and the urgency of her voice. One to watch for the 2020s." --Forbes "This has the force of a fist punching through the page." --Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) "Thorogood taps into sensation and the way that it is experienced in a way that is unlike anything I've seen before. It's astonishing." --AIPT "Tragic, funny and disturbing." --Connecticut Public Radio/NPR "Unflinchingly stark and personal." --The Guardian UK

Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781534323865
  • ISBN-10: 1534323864
  • Publisher: Image Comics
  • Publish Date: November 2022
  • Dimensions: 10.16 x 6.66 x 0.4 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.85 pounds
  • Page Count: 196

Related Categories

BAM Customer Reviews