menu

Keep Moving : Notes on Loss, Creativity, and Change
by Maggie Smith




Overview -
NATIONAL BESTSELLER

"A meditation on kindness and hope, and how to move forward through grief." --NPR

"A shining reminder to learn all we can from this moment, rebuilding ourselves in the darkness so that we may come out wiser, kinder, and stronger on the other side." --The Boston Globe

"Powerful essays on loss, endurance, and renewal." --People

Cosmopolitan's "Best Nonfiction Books of 2020"
Marie Claire's "2020 Books You Should Pre-Order Now"
Parade's "25 Self-Help Books To Get Your 2020 Off On The Right Foot"
The Washington Post's "What to Read in 2020 Based on the Books You Loved in 2019"

For fans of Cheryl Strayed and Anne Lamott, a collection of quotes and essays on facing life's challenges with creativity, courage, and resilience.

When Maggie Smith, the award-winning author of the viral poem "Good Bones," started writing inspirational daily Twitter posts in the wake of her divorce, they unexpectedly caught fire. In this deeply moving book of quotes and essays, Maggie writes about new beginnings as opportunities for transformation. Like kintsugi, the Japanese art of mending broken ceramics with gold, Keep Moving celebrates the beauty and strength on the other side of loss. This is a book for anyone who has gone through a difficult time and is wondering: What comes next?

  Read Full Product Description
 
Hardcover
  • Retail Price: $24.00
  • $21.06
    (Save 12%)
Add to Cart
+ Add to Wishlist
local_shippingFor Delivery
In Stock.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help
 
storeBuy Online Pickup At Store
search store by zipcode

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 23 copies from $8.92
 
Download

Format: EPUB What's this?
This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

Customers Also Bought

More About Keep Moving by Maggie Smith

 
 
 

Overview

NATIONAL BESTSELLER

"A meditation on kindness and hope, and how to move forward through grief." --NPR

"A shining reminder to learn all we can from this moment, rebuilding ourselves in the darkness so that we may come out wiser, kinder, and stronger on the other side." --The Boston Globe

"Powerful essays on loss, endurance, and renewal." --People

Cosmopolitan's "Best Nonfiction Books of 2020"
Marie Claire's "2020 Books You Should Pre-Order Now"
Parade's "25 Self-Help Books To Get Your 2020 Off On The Right Foot"
The Washington Post's "What to Read in 2020 Based on the Books You Loved in 2019"

For fans of Cheryl Strayed and Anne Lamott, a collection of quotes and essays on facing life's challenges with creativity, courage, and resilience.

When Maggie Smith, the award-winning author of the viral poem "Good Bones," started writing inspirational daily Twitter posts in the wake of her divorce, they unexpectedly caught fire. In this deeply moving book of quotes and essays, Maggie writes about new beginnings as opportunities for transformation. Like kintsugi, the Japanese art of mending broken ceramics with gold, Keep Moving celebrates the beauty and strength on the other side of loss. This is a book for anyone who has gone through a difficult time and is wondering: What comes next?

 

Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781982132071
  • ISBN-10: 1982132078
  • Publisher: Atria/One Signal Publishers
  • Publish Date: October 2020
  • Page Count: 224
  • Dimensions: 6.9 x 5.7 x 0.7 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.7 pounds


Related Categories

 

BookPage Reviews

Lifestyles: May 2020

Solace, refreshment (with chickens!) and a breath of fresh air await readers of these delightful books.


★ Keep Moving

A while back, during a difficult divorce, poet Maggie Smith began posting daily affirmations and directives on Facebook, ending always with two words: Keep moving. Her words have since provided solace and inspiration for countless readers, and now they’re compiled in Keep Moving, along with brief essays. In a season of unprecedented uncertainty, Smith’s book has arrived just in time. Open it to any page, and chances are you’ll find reason to reflect in a productive way. 

Drinking With Chickens

I’m having a fine time imagining the pitch meeting for Kate E. Richards’ Drinking With Chickens.

“It’s a haute cocktail book . . . but with chickens.”

“So we’ll give them luscious photographs of gorgeous cocktails . . . and chickens?”

“Yes. Garden-to-glass stuff, and herbal infusions. But with store-bought cheats, too, because after you’re done cleaning the coop, who has time for all that?”

“This isn’t, like, just for chicken owners though, is it?”

“Hardly! Like Kate says, ‘You don’t need to own them (cough, cough . . . be owned by them) to live the Drinking With Chickens life. Go forth into the world, my friends, and find chickens to drink with.’ ”

“Love it. Love it. It’s the perfect spring title. Someone mix me up an Early Strawberry Syllabub, pronto.”

Writing Wild

If you’re a fan of nature and environmental writing, you may believe it’s something of a boys’ club—a forgivable assumption, as so many dudes get the attention in this genre (we see you, Thoreau). In Writing Wild, Kathryn Aalto sets the record straight with biographical profiles and brief introductions to the work of 25 women who have worked in this literary vein. Here are Vita Sackville-­West, Mary Oliver and Gretel Ehrlich; here, too, in brief roundups at the end of each profile, are still “More Early American Voices” who have taken on some aspect of the natural world in their writing. This book is a wonderful jumping-off point for anyone who loves the outdoors and wants to know more about the many talented female writers who have made it their work’s focus.


Susannah Felts is a Nashville-based writer and co-founder of  The Porch, a literary arts organization. She enjoys anything paper- or plant-related.

 

BAM Customer Reviews