Know Nothing|Mary Lee Settle
Know Nothing : Book III of the Beulah Quintet
local_shippingFor Delivery
In Stock.
This item is Non-Returnable.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help


Set in the decades preceding the Civil War, this third volume of The Beulah Quintet - Mary Lee Settle's unforgettable generational saga about the roots of American culture, class, and identity and the meaning of freedom - tells the tragic tale of Peregrine Catlett and his second son, Johnny. The year 1837 brings a host of perils to the verdant Virginia valley where Peregrine, a third-generation American, is the owner of Beulah. Amid financial panic, debate over the abolition of slavery, and mounting tension between North and South, Peregrine considers freeing his slaves but believes that, with his children scattered, his only hope of retaining his livelihood rests on the use of slave labor. Tied to the land by a special bond, Johnny returns to his father's farm but stays only until the outbreak of hostilities. As a Confederate soldier, Johnny is aware of the tragedy to come. But family ties outweigh convictions, and he ends up fighting in the war with disastrous results.

This item is Non-Returnable


  • ISBN-13: 9781570031168
  • ISBN-10: 1570031169
  • Publisher: University of South Carolina Press
  • Publish Date: May 1996
  • Dimensions: 8.04 x 5.54 x 0.96 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.01 pounds
  • Page Count: 334