menu
{ "item_title" : "The Lies We Hide", "item_author" : [" S. E. Lynes "], "item_description" : "The truth can set you free, or make you a prisoner...Thirty years ago, Nicola Watson lived with her parents and older brother in a respectable suburb. At ten years old, she didn't yet understand why her stomach tightened when she heard her father's heavy tread as he returned home late at night, or why it made her brother Graham's stammer get worse, or why one night her mother Carol woke them both, wide-eyed and whispering, and took them out of their home and into the unknown.Now a successful lawyer in the city, with a life poles apart from her dark beginnings, Nicola has returned home for her mother's funeral. But as she stands in her mother's house, remembering the woman who sacrificed everything for her children, Nicola has to confront the guilt that she feels for leaving her family behind. And the belief that she played a part in the events that led to her brother going to prison for murder.All Carol wanted was to protect her children, but escaping her husband was only the beginning of the story. And when Nicola learns the truth of what her mother did, it will change everything she thought she knew about herself and her family.A gripping, emotional story of family secrets, and the strength of a mother's love in the darkest times. The next powerful read for fans of The Silent Wife, Kerry Lonsdale and Emily Bleeker.Readers are loving The Lies We Hide'There are not enough stars in the world to describe my love for this book A million stars and more from me ' Goodreads Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐'Amazing... a story so deep and heartbreaking with so many twists you won't be able to put it down. I would give this book more stars if I could. Loved it and will be definitely recommending this to all my friends.' Goodreads Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐'You know when you find one of those books that you know you are going to love right from the first few pages? This is one of those, it's fast paced and kept me up reading nearly all night last night, I couldn't stopI can't recommend it enough, it's my favourite read this year so far.' NetGalley Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐'The Lies We Hide is a story that will take hold of you. When I wasn't reading it, I was constantly thinking about it. The novel on the whole was simply mesmerising but the ending is what knocked it out of the park for me. Absolutely outstanding ' By the Letter Book Reviews ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐'A brilliant domestic thrillerWOWLoved this book - almost read it straight through... The end has a twist I did not see coming' Goodreads Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐'If I could, I would give it more than the max 5 stars because it deserves so many more.' Goodreads Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐'This is such a moving story and one I would highly recommend. In fact, thanks to the author, I stayed awake far longer than was sensible in order to keep reading.' Goodreads Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐'Wow, what a book. It grabbed me from the first page and I'm gutted that I've finished it. I've loved this author's other books, however this is definitely my favourite so far.' Goodreads Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐", "item_img_path" : "https://covers3.booksamillion.com/covers/bam/1/83/888/187/1838881875_b.jpg", "price_data" : { "retail_price" : "10.99", "online_price" : "10.99", "our_price" : "10.99", "club_price" : "10.99", "savings_pct" : "0", "savings_amt" : "0.00", "club_savings_pct" : "0", "club_savings_amt" : "0.00", "discount_pct" : "10", "store_price" : "" } }
The Lies We Hide|S. E. Lynes
The Lies We Hide : An absolutely gripping and darkly compelling novel
local_shippingFor Delivery
In Stock.
This item is Non-Returnable.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help

Overview

The truth can set you free, or make you a prisoner...

Thirty years ago, Nicola Watson lived with her parents and older brother in a respectable suburb. At ten years old, she didn't yet understand why her stomach tightened when she heard her father's heavy tread as he returned home late at night, or why it made her brother Graham's stammer get worse, or why one night her mother Carol woke them both, wide-eyed and whispering, and took them out of their home and into the unknown.

Now a successful lawyer in the city, with a life poles apart from her dark beginnings, Nicola has returned home for her mother's funeral. But as she stands in her mother's house, remembering the woman who sacrificed everything for her children, Nicola has to confront the guilt that she feels for leaving her family behind. And the belief that she played a part in the events that led to her brother going to prison for murder.

All Carol wanted was to protect her children, but escaping her husband was only the beginning of the story. And when Nicola learns the truth of what her mother did, it will change everything she thought she knew about herself and her family.

A gripping, emotional story of family secrets, and the strength of a mother's love in the darkest times. The next powerful read for fans of The Silent Wife, Kerry Lonsdale and Emily Bleeker.

Readers are loving The Lies We Hide

'There are not enough stars in the world to describe my love for this book A million stars and more from me ' Goodreads Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'Amazing... a story so deep and heartbreaking with so many twists you won't be able to put it down. I would give this book more stars if I could. Loved it and will be definitely recommending this to all my friends.' Goodreads Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'You know when you find one of those books that you know you are going to love right from the first few pages? This is one of those, it's fast paced and kept me up reading nearly all night last night, I couldn't stop I can't recommend it enough, it's my favourite read this year so far.' NetGalley Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'The Lies We Hide is a story that will take hold of you. When I wasn't reading it, I was constantly thinking about it. The novel on the whole was simply mesmerising but the ending is what knocked it out of the park for me. Absolutely outstanding ' By the Letter Book Reviews ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'A brilliant domestic thriller WOW Loved this book - almost read it straight through... The end has a twist I did not see coming ' Goodreads Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'If I could, I would give it more than the max 5 stars because it deserves so many more.' Goodreads Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'This is such a moving story and one I would highly recommend. In fact, thanks to the author, I stayed awake far longer than was sensible in order to keep reading.' Goodreads Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'Wow, what a book. It grabbed me from the first page and I'm gutted that I've finished it. I've loved this author's other books, however this is definitely my favourite so far.' Goodreads Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

This item is Non-Returnable

  • ISBN-13: 9781838881870
  • ISBN-10: 1838881875
  • Publisher: Bookouture
  • Publish Date: December 2019
  • Dimensions: 7.81 x 5.06 x 0.77 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.74 pounds
  • Page Count: 344