menu

The Life She Was Given : A Moving and Emotional Saga of Family and Resilient Women
by Ellen Marie Wiseman




Overview -
A GREAT GROUP READS Selection of the Women's National Book Association and National Reading Group Month

A GOODREADS Best of the Month Selection

"A powerful, poignant novel."
--In Touch, Grade A


From the internationally bestselling author of The Orphan Collector comes a beautifully written and moving tale of family secrets and the importance of a mother's love--and how it can shape a life--even in the most shocking ways. A painful saga of strength and reinvention perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes and Lisa Wingate--set in two different times, as two young women come of age and uncover the mysteries of their families, and find their own ways in the world...

On a summer evening in 1931, Lilly Blackwood glimpses circus lights from the grimy window of her attic bedroom. Lilly isn't allowed to explore the meadows around Blackwood Manor. She's never even ventured beyond her narrow room. Momma insists it's for Lilly's own protection, that people would be afraid if they saw her. But on this unforgettable night, Lilly is taken outside for the first time--and sold to the circus sideshow.

More than two decades later, nineteen-year-old Julia Blackwood has inherited her parents' estate and horse farm. For Julia, home was an unhappy place full of strict rules and forbidden rooms, and she hopes that returning might erase those painful memories. Instead, she becomes immersed in a mystery involving a hidden attic room and photos of circus scenes featuring a striking young girl.

At first, The Barlow Brothers' Circus is just another prison for Lilly. But in this rag-tag, sometimes brutal world, Lilly discovers strength, friendship, and a rare affinity for animals. Soon, thanks to elephants Pepper and JoJo and their handler, Cole, Lilly is no longer a sideshow spectacle but the circus's biggest attraction...until tragedy and cruelty collide. It will fall to Julia to learn the truth about Lilly's fate and her family's shocking betrayal, and find a way to make Blackwood Manor into a place of healing at last.

Moving between Julia and Lilly's stories, Ellen Marie Wiseman portrays two extraordinary, very different women in a novel that, while tender and heartbreaking, offers moments of joy and indomitable hope.

"Perfect for book clubs and readers who admired Sara Gruen's Like Water for Elephants."
--Library Journal, STARRED REVIEW

"A vibrant maze of desires."
--ForeWord Reviews

"Seamlessly blends mystery and history with compelling and well-researched details."
--The Historical Novels Review

"Vividly drawn and complex...Fans of Karen White and Sara Gruen will be drawn in by the drama and mystery of Wiseman's novel."
--BookPage

  Read Full Product Description
 
Paperback
  • Retail Price: $15.00
  • $13.20
    (Save 12%)
Add to Cart
+ Add to Wishlist
local_shippingFor Delivery
In Stock.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help
 
storeBuy Online Pickup At Store
search store by zipcode

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 84 copies from $3.45
 
 
 

More About The Life She Was Given by Ellen Marie Wiseman

 
 
 

Overview

A GREAT GROUP READS Selection of the Women's National Book Association and National Reading Group Month

A GOODREADS Best of the Month Selection

"A powerful, poignant novel."
--In Touch, Grade A


From the internationally bestselling author of The Orphan Collector comes a beautifully written and moving tale of family secrets and the importance of a mother's love--and how it can shape a life--even in the most shocking ways. A painful saga of strength and reinvention perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes and Lisa Wingate--set in two different times, as two young women come of age and uncover the mysteries of their families, and find their own ways in the world...

On a summer evening in 1931, Lilly Blackwood glimpses circus lights from the grimy window of her attic bedroom. Lilly isn't allowed to explore the meadows around Blackwood Manor. She's never even ventured beyond her narrow room. Momma insists it's for Lilly's own protection, that people would be afraid if they saw her. But on this unforgettable night, Lilly is taken outside for the first time--and sold to the circus sideshow.

More than two decades later, nineteen-year-old Julia Blackwood has inherited her parents' estate and horse farm. For Julia, home was an unhappy place full of strict rules and forbidden rooms, and she hopes that returning might erase those painful memories. Instead, she becomes immersed in a mystery involving a hidden attic room and photos of circus scenes featuring a striking young girl.

At first, The Barlow Brothers' Circus is just another prison for Lilly. But in this rag-tag, sometimes brutal world, Lilly discovers strength, friendship, and a rare affinity for animals. Soon, thanks to elephants Pepper and JoJo and their handler, Cole, Lilly is no longer a sideshow spectacle but the circus's biggest attraction...until tragedy and cruelty collide. It will fall to Julia to learn the truth about Lilly's fate and her family's shocking betrayal, and find a way to make Blackwood Manor into a place of healing at last.

Moving between Julia and Lilly's stories, Ellen Marie Wiseman portrays two extraordinary, very different women in a novel that, while tender and heartbreaking, offers moments of joy and indomitable hope.

"Perfect for book clubs and readers who admired Sara Gruen's Like Water for Elephants."
--Library Journal, STARRED REVIEW

"A vibrant maze of desires."
--ForeWord Reviews

"Seamlessly blends mystery and history with compelling and well-researched details."
--The Historical Novels Review

"Vividly drawn and complex...Fans of Karen White and Sara Gruen will be drawn in by the drama and mystery of Wiseman's novel."
--BookPage

 

Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781617734496
  • ISBN-10: 1617734497
  • Publisher: Kensington Publishing Corporation
  • Publish Date: July 2017
  • Page Count: 304
  • Dimensions: 8.2 x 5.6 x 1.1 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.75 pounds


Related Categories

 

BAM Customer Reviews