The Light Between Worlds
by Laura E. Weymouth


Overview -

What happens when you return to the real world after being in a fantastical one like Narnia? This YA debut by Laura E. Weymouth is perfect for fans of Melissa Albert's The Hazel Wood and Lev Grossman's The Magicians.  Read more...


 
Hardcover
  • $17.99
  • 20% off for Members: Get the Club Price
    $ 14.39
Add to Cart
+ Add to Wishlist
In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 58 copies from $4.01
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. and Canada billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About The Light Between Worlds by Laura E. Weymouth
 
 
 
Overview

What happens when you return to the real world after being in a fantastical one like Narnia? This YA debut by Laura E. Weymouth is perfect for fans of Melissa Albert's The Hazel Wood and Lev Grossman's The Magicians.

Six years ago, sisters Evelyn and Philippa Hapwell were swept away to a strange and beautiful kingdom called the Woodlands, where they lived for years. But ever since they returned to their lives in post-WWII England, they have struggled to adjust.

Ev desperately wants to return to the Woodlands, and Philippa just wants to move on. When Ev goes missing, Philippa must confront the depth of her sister's despair and the painful truths they've been running from. As the weeks unfold, Philippa wonders if Ev truly did find a way home, or if the weight of their worlds pulled her under.

Walking the line between where fantasy and reality meet, this lyrical and magical novel is, above all else, an exploration of loss and healing, and what it means to find where you belong.

This edition uses deckle edges; the uneven paper edge is intentional.


 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780062696878
  • ISBN-10: 0062696874
  • Publisher: Harperteen
  • Publish Date: October 2018
  • Page Count: 368
  • Reading Level: Ages 13-UP
  • Dimensions: 8.3 x 5.4 x 1.3 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.97 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Young Adult Fiction > Fantasy - Wizards & Witches
Books > Young Adult Fiction > Historical - Europe
Books > Young Adult Fiction > Royalty

 
BookPage Reviews

The Light Between Worlds

As bombs pelt World War II London, a group of young siblings are transported to another world. Once there, they befriend magical creatures, fight a war, grow into adults and finally, via a majestic stag, return home at the exact moment they departed. If it feels like you’ve read this story before, rest assured The Light Between Worlds still has some surprises in store.

Evelyn hasn’t been the same since she abruptly returned from a magical land called the Woodlands six years ago. Each night, she sneaks out of her boarding school to wander the woods, seeking a way back to the world of her heart. Evelyn’s older sister, Philippa, has long been her main source of support, but Philippa’s become so interested in chasing popularity that Evelyn barely recognizes her.

Surrounding herself with a swirl of activities has become Philippa’s defense and coping mechanism against her own sadness. When an unexpected development leads Philippa to take a job in the conservation department at the National Gallery, she meets a young man with his own reasons for wanting to repair damaged treasures.

The unspoken presence of C.S. Lewis’ Chronicles of Narnia pervades Laura E. Weymouth’s debut novel. How might travelers feel upon finding themselves children again after living half a lifetime in another world? What could explain a teen’s defection from fantasy, turning instead toward seemingly spurious concerns? And what can someone do when their heart calls them home to a different world?

Fans of Narnia and contemporary interpretations like Lev Grossman’s The Magicians will relish The Light Between Worlds.

 

This article was originally published in the December 2018 issue of BookPage. Download the entire issue for the Kindle or Nook.

 
BAM Customer Reviews