Maxwell's Urban Hang Suite
Maxwell (R&B)

local_shippingFor Delivery
In Stock.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help
storeBuy Online Pickup At Store
search store by zipcode


More About Maxwell's Urban Hang Suite



Track Listing

1 Urban Theme, The
2 Welcome
3 Sumthin' Sumthin'
4 Ascension (Don't Ever Wonder)
5 Dancewitme
6 Til the Cops Come Knockin', ...
7 Whenever Wherever Whatever
8 Lonely's the Only Company (I&II)
9 Reunion
10 Suitelady (The Proposal Jam)
11 The Suite Theme / (untitled) - (hidden track)



  • Genre: R&B
  • Release Date: April 1996
  • Label: Columbia (USA)
  • Format: CD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Audio Format: Stereo
  • Engineer: Mike Pela; PM; Ed Tuton

Music Reviews

Editorial Reviews

Rolling Stone (12/26/96, p.186) - "...evokes the prodigious bedroom electricity of FOR YOU-era Prince. You can also hear plenty of MFSB, Barry White and Marvin Gaye on the record....Maxwell massages his influences deep into the pink-satin folds of URBAN HANG SUITE'S cozy grooves..."

Entertainment Weekly (4/5/96, p.80) - "...While he can't yet claim the throne occupied by Marvin Gaye, he smooths hip-hop's and soul's edges, proving that black dance music doesn't automatically mean ghetto culture." - Rating: B+

Q (6/02, p.134) - 3 stars out of 5 - "...One of the very best R&B records of the '90s..."

Vibe (3/96, p.132) - "...[Maxwell's] style calmly fluctuates between cool jazz and ballad-heavy R&B....MAXWELL'S URBAN HANGOUT SUITE is a refreshing detour from hump-bouncin' '90s R&B."

Village Voice (2/25/97) - Ranked #20 in the Village Voice's 1996 Pazz & Jop Critics' Poll.

Pitchfork (Website) - "With melodious hooks to spare, URBAN HANG SUITE captures the sparkling intimacy and free-flowing conviviality that characterized New York's R&B open mic nights in the 1990s to a greater degree than almost any other album of its time."


BAM Customer Reviews