menu
{ "item_title" : "Mango and Peppercorns", "item_author" : [" Tung Nguyen", "Katherine Manning", "Lyn Nguyen "], "item_description" : "A powerful memoir of resilience, friendship, family, and food from the acclaimed chefs behind the award-winning Hy Vong Vietnamese restaurant in Miami. Through powerful narrative, archival imagery, and 20 Vietnamese recipes that mirror their story, Mango & Peppercorns is a unique contribution to culinary literature. In 1975, after narrowly escaping the fall of Saigon, pregnant refugee and gifted cook Tung Nguyen ended up in the Miami home of Kathy Manning, a graduate student and waitress who was taking in displaced Vietnamese refugees. This serendipitous meeting evolved into a decades-long partnership, one that eventually turned strangers into family and a tiny, no-frills eatery into one of the most lauded restaurants in the country. Tung's fierce practicality often clashed with Kathy's free-spirited nature, but over time, they found a harmony in their contrasts--a harmony embodied in the restaurant's signature mango and peppercorns sauce. - IMPORTANT, UNIVERSAL STORY: An inspiring memoir peppered with recipes, it is a riveting read that will appeal to fans of Roy Choi, Ed Lee, Ruth Reichl, and Kwame Onwuachi.- TIMELY TOPIC: This real-life American dream is a welcome reminder of our country's longstanding tradition of welcoming refugees and immigrants. This book adds a touchpoint to that larger conversation, resonating beyond the bookshelf.- INVENTIVE COOKBOOK: This book is taking genre-bending a step further, focusing on the story first and foremost with 20 complementary recipes. Perfect for: - Fans of culinary nonfiction- Fans of Ruth Reichl, Roy Choi, Kwame Onwuachi, and Anya Von Bremzen- Home cooks who are interested in Asian food and cooking", "item_img_path" : "https://covers3.booksamillion.com/covers/bam/1/79/720/224/1797202243_b.jpg", "price_data" : { "retail_price" : "24.95", "online_price" : "24.95", "our_price" : "24.95", "club_price" : "24.95", "savings_pct" : "0", "savings_amt" : "0.00", "club_savings_pct" : "0", "club_savings_amt" : "0.00", "discount_pct" : "10", "store_price" : "" } }
Mango and Peppercorns|Tung Nguyen
Mango and Peppercorns : A Memoir of Food, an Unlikely Family, and the American Dream
local_shippingFor Delivery
In Stock.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help

Overview

A powerful memoir of resilience, friendship, family, and food from the acclaimed chefs behind the award-winning Hy Vong Vietnamese restaurant in Miami.

Through powerful narrative, archival imagery, and 20 Vietnamese recipes that mirror their story, Mango & Peppercorns is a unique contribution to culinary literature.

In 1975, after narrowly escaping the fall of Saigon, pregnant refugee and gifted cook Tung Nguyen ended up in the Miami home of Kathy Manning, a graduate student and waitress who was taking in displaced Vietnamese refugees. This serendipitous meeting evolved into a decades-long partnership, one that eventually turned strangers into family and a tiny, no-frills eatery into one of the most lauded restaurants in the country.

Tung's fierce practicality often clashed with Kathy's free-spirited nature, but over time, they found a harmony in their contrasts--a harmony embodied in the restaurant's signature mango and peppercorns sauce.

- IMPORTANT, UNIVERSAL STORY: An inspiring memoir peppered with recipes, it is a riveting read that will appeal to fans of Roy Choi, Ed Lee, Ruth Reichl, and Kwame Onwuachi.
- TIMELY TOPIC: This real-life American dream is a welcome reminder of our country's longstanding tradition of welcoming refugees and immigrants. This book adds a touchpoint to that larger conversation, resonating beyond the bookshelf.
- INVENTIVE COOKBOOK: This book is taking genre-bending a step further, focusing on the story first and foremost with 20 complementary recipes.

Perfect for:

- Fans of culinary nonfiction
- Fans of Ruth Reichl, Roy Choi, Kwame Onwuachi, and Anya Von Bremzen
- Home cooks who are interested in Asian food and cooking

  • ISBN-13: 9781797202242
  • ISBN-10: 1797202243
  • Publisher: Chronicle Books
  • Publish Date: March 2021
  • Dimensions: 9 x 6.2 x 1.1 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.05 pounds
  • Page Count: 224