menu

Murder at Benbury Brook : An absolutely gripping English cozy mystery
by Betty Rowlands




Overview -

A babbling brook runs alongside a wooded glade, surrounded by autumn light and birdsong. But next to the stream a young woman lies dead, her once bright blonde hair now limp and lifeless...

Melissa Craig has settled into a new job in the charming Cotswolds village of Upper Benbury. She is teaching French to several of the local teenagers, which gives her a fascinating insight into the young people's lives. Material for a new novel perhaps...

Her quiet life is interrupted when she sees her new neighbour running out of the woods in a blind panic. Melissa rushes to help him, but what she finds leaves her breathless: the body of young woman is lying on the bank of the river.

When suspicion falls on Melissa's neighbour, a man with a difficult past trying to make a new start, Melissa feels determined to prove his innocence. With the village in turmoil, and the police sure they've got their man, she must act quickly.

As she interviews the local residents, she realises there are several sinister characters lurking inside those charming Cotswold cottages... Could one of them have hurt Cissie? Was it the strange old man with a cottage near the river? Or the ailing ex-choirmaster with quite an eye for the ladies?

When Melissa Craig decides to get her teeth into a case, she doesn't let go - nothing will stop her from solving this murder. Can she prove the innocence of her new friend? And will she unearth the culprit before another young life is taken?

An absolutely unputdownable murder mystery for fans of Faith Martin, Joy Ellis and P.D. James that will have you hooked right from the start.

This book was previously published as The Man at the Window.

What readers are saying about Betty Rowlands:
'Hooked from the first pages... wonderful... fascinating, full of twists and turns... kept me guessing till the end.' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

'Brilliant... I read this book in one sitting and could not put it down. I would highly recommend this book to anyone.' NetGalley Reviewer, 5 stars

'An absolutely addictive, wonderful story. Loved it from start to finish. Great pace and a delightful setting, colourful characters and thrilling mystery. This was a brilliant story and I cannot wait for more ' Renita D'Silva, author of The Forgotten Daughter, 5 stars

  Read Full Product Description
 
local_shippingFor Delivery
In Stock.
This item is Non-Returnable.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help
 
storeBuy Online Pickup At Store
search store by zipcode

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 8 copies from $7.44
 
 
 

More About Murder at Benbury Brook by Betty Rowlands

 
 
 

Overview

A babbling brook runs alongside a wooded glade, surrounded by autumn light and birdsong. But next to the stream a young woman lies dead, her once bright blonde hair now limp and lifeless...

Melissa Craig has settled into a new job in the charming Cotswolds village of Upper Benbury. She is teaching French to several of the local teenagers, which gives her a fascinating insight into the young people's lives. Material for a new novel perhaps...

Her quiet life is interrupted when she sees her new neighbour running out of the woods in a blind panic. Melissa rushes to help him, but what she finds leaves her breathless: the body of young woman is lying on the bank of the river.

When suspicion falls on Melissa's neighbour, a man with a difficult past trying to make a new start, Melissa feels determined to prove his innocence. With the village in turmoil, and the police sure they've got their man, she must act quickly.

As she interviews the local residents, she realises there are several sinister characters lurking inside those charming Cotswold cottages... Could one of them have hurt Cissie? Was it the strange old man with a cottage near the river? Or the ailing ex-choirmaster with quite an eye for the ladies?

When Melissa Craig decides to get her teeth into a case, she doesn't let go - nothing will stop her from solving this murder. Can she prove the innocence of her new friend? And will she unearth the culprit before another young life is taken?

An absolutely unputdownable murder mystery for fans of Faith Martin, Joy Ellis and P.D. James that will have you hooked right from the start.

This book was previously published as The Man at the Window.

What readers are saying about Betty Rowlands:
'Hooked from the first pages... wonderful... fascinating, full of twists and turns... kept me guessing till the end.' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

'Brilliant... I read this book in one sitting and could not put it down. I would highly recommend this book to anyone.' NetGalley Reviewer, 5 stars

'An absolutely addictive, wonderful story. Loved it from start to finish. Great pace and a delightful setting, colourful characters and thrilling mystery. This was a brilliant story and I cannot wait for more ' Renita D'Silva, author of The Forgotten Daughter, 5 stars



This item is Non-Returnable.

 

Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781786817822
  • ISBN-10: 1786817829
  • Publisher: Bookouture
  • Publish Date: February 2019
  • Page Count: 234
  • Dimensions: 7.8 x 5.08 x 0.49 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.51 pounds

Series: Melissa Craig Mystery #9

Related Categories

 

BAM Customer Reviews