menu

Mystery on Hidden Lane : An utterly gripping cozy mystery novel
by Clare Chase




Overview -

Meet Eve Mallow: an American far from home, a professional busybody... and an amateur detective?

Seasoned obituary writer Eve Mallow has a new assignment: to tell the life story of famed musician Bernard Fitzpatrick. A chance to spend a few days in the sweet little village of Saxford St Peter, walking the country lanes with her beloved dachshund Gus and meeting new people sounds like a dream. But it turns out that Bernard's life was much less interesting than his death. On the day she arrives, news breaks that the charismatic cellist was the victim of a grisly murder. Could this quaint English village be hiding a dark secret?

As Eve starts to interview Bernard's friends and colleagues, she finds that he'd ruffled a few feathers. In fact, from the keepers of the Cross Keys Inn to his own staff at High House, there's barely a person in town who doesn't have some reason to hate him... is one of the friendly villagers a cold-blooded killer?

Eve hoped Saxford St Peter would be the perfect escape from her busy city life. But there is darkness even in the most sunlit of settings. And when a second body is found, Eve becomes certain that one of the people she's met must be the murderer. She has never done any detective work before... but is there something in her notes that can crack the case?

An unputdownable page-turner, perfect for fans of Faith Martin, Agatha Christie and Betty Rowlands.

What readers are saying about Mystery on Hidden Lane:


'I really enjoyed reading this Loved the typical English village location and the very Jessica Fletcher-type protagonist... I am anxious to read more of this character soon ' Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

'Thoroughly enjoyed it... lovely twists and turns' Goodreads Reviewer

'I thoroughly enjoyed it... loved the setting... I'm looking forward to reading more... I was reminded of a modern-day Miss Marple.' Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

'Loved it... a very good whodunnit... And she has a long-haired dachshund;)' Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

'Very enjoyable... gripping... leaves you looking forward to the next' NetGalley Reviewer, 5 stars

'Stunning... loved the story and the pacing and just everything about it... a great story that I couldn't put down... I can't wait for the next one.' Crossroad Reviews

'Hits the ground running... I loved it ... And of course Gus is an excellent side-kick ... A cracking series opener which I thoroughly enjoyed and which has left me hankering for more' Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

  Read Full Product Description
 
local_shippingFor Delivery
In Stock.
This item is Non-Returnable.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help
 
storeBuy Online Pickup At Store
search store by zipcode

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 13 copies from $5.39
 
 
 

More About Mystery on Hidden Lane by Clare Chase

 
 
 

Overview

Meet Eve Mallow: an American far from home, a professional busybody... and an amateur detective?

Seasoned obituary writer Eve Mallow has a new assignment: to tell the life story of famed musician Bernard Fitzpatrick. A chance to spend a few days in the sweet little village of Saxford St Peter, walking the country lanes with her beloved dachshund Gus and meeting new people sounds like a dream. But it turns out that Bernard's life was much less interesting than his death. On the day she arrives, news breaks that the charismatic cellist was the victim of a grisly murder. Could this quaint English village be hiding a dark secret?

As Eve starts to interview Bernard's friends and colleagues, she finds that he'd ruffled a few feathers. In fact, from the keepers of the Cross Keys Inn to his own staff at High House, there's barely a person in town who doesn't have some reason to hate him... is one of the friendly villagers a cold-blooded killer?

Eve hoped Saxford St Peter would be the perfect escape from her busy city life. But there is darkness even in the most sunlit of settings. And when a second body is found, Eve becomes certain that one of the people she's met must be the murderer. She has never done any detective work before... but is there something in her notes that can crack the case?

An unputdownable page-turner, perfect for fans of Faith Martin, Agatha Christie and Betty Rowlands.

What readers are saying about Mystery on Hidden Lane:


'I really enjoyed reading this Loved the typical English village location and the very Jessica Fletcher-type protagonist... I am anxious to read more of this character soon ' Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

'Thoroughly enjoyed it... lovely twists and turns' Goodreads Reviewer

'I thoroughly enjoyed it... loved the setting... I'm looking forward to reading more... I was reminded of a modern-day Miss Marple.' Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

'Loved it... a very good whodunnit... And she has a long-haired dachshund;)' Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

'Very enjoyable... gripping... leaves you looking forward to the next' NetGalley Reviewer, 5 stars

'Stunning... loved the story and the pacing and just everything about it... a great story that I couldn't put down... I can't wait for the next one.' Crossroad Reviews

'Hits the ground running... I loved it ... And of course Gus is an excellent side-kick ... A cracking series opener which I thoroughly enjoyed and which has left me hankering for more' Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars



This item is Non-Returnable.

 

Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781838885250
  • ISBN-10: 1838885250
  • Publisher: Bookouture
  • Publish Date: January 2020
  • Page Count: 272
  • Dimensions: 7.81 x 5.06 x 0.61 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.59 pounds

Series: An Eve Mallow Mystery #1

Related Categories

 

BAM Customer Reviews