menu

Our Lady of Infidelity : A Novel
by Jackie Parker




Overview -

In the tradition of Isabel Allende and Barbara Kingsolver, the story of a troubled child, a small town, and the miracle of love: "Enchanting and magical" (Brian Morton, author of Florence Gordon).

It begins when a vision appears in a carwash window in the desert town of Infidelity, a blip on the map just outside of Joshua Tree, California. Seven-year-old Luz Reyes, whose family was killed by death squads in her native land and whose mother is gravely ill, is the first to see it. Then Walt Adair, the divorced owner of the carwash. Then Zoe Luedke, the golden-haired stranger in search of her runaway husband. Even the child's skeptic mother sees it. A crowd gathers, and others in the town see something as well, but no two people see the same thing. Though the priest, Father Bill, tries to prevent the vision from taking hold, even he seems to fall under its power.

At first, it brings wonderful things: healings, peace, a kind of happiness that the people of Infidelity have never known. Then Luz's extraordinary powers begin to reveal themselves. An unexplained death begins to turn the town against her. In the chaos that follows, people struggle to hold onto the beauty that came into their lives through Luz and the window—even as they ask whether they were deluded, duped, or given a great gift.

"A powerful and gripping American story about second chances, the bonds between people, and the search for a sense of home . . . Unforgettable, life-affirming." Ann Weisgarber, author of The Promise

  Read Full Product Description
 
eBook

Retail Price: $14.99
$11.39

(Save 24%)
Download
cloud_download

+ Add to Wishlist

Download

Format: EPUB What's this?
Language: English

This item is only available to U.S. and Canada billing addresses.

 
 

This item is Non-Returnable.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help
Not a member? Join Today!

 
 
 
 
 

More About Our Lady of Infidelity by Jackie Parker

 
 
 

Overview

In the tradition of Isabel Allende and Barbara Kingsolver, the story of a troubled child, a small town, and the miracle of love: "Enchanting and magical" (Brian Morton, author of Florence Gordon).

It begins when a vision appears in a carwash window in the desert town of Infidelity, a blip on the map just outside of Joshua Tree, California. Seven-year-old Luz Reyes, whose family was killed by death squads in her native land and whose mother is gravely ill, is the first to see it. Then Walt Adair, the divorced owner of the carwash. Then Zoe Luedke, the golden-haired stranger in search of her runaway husband. Even the child's skeptic mother sees it. A crowd gathers, and others in the town see something as well, but no two people see the same thing. Though the priest, Father Bill, tries to prevent the vision from taking hold, even he seems to fall under its power.

At first, it brings wonderful things: healings, peace, a kind of happiness that the people of Infidelity have never known. Then Luz's extraordinary powers begin to reveal themselves. An unexplained death begins to turn the town against her. In the chaos that follows, people struggle to hold onto the beauty that came into their lives through Luz and the window—even as they ask whether they were deluded, duped, or given a great gift.

"A powerful and gripping American story about second chances, the bonds between people, and the search for a sense of home . . . Unforgettable, life-affirming." Ann Weisgarber, author of The Promise


This item is Non-Returnable.

 

Details

  • ISBN: 9781628727722
  • Publisher: Skyhorse Publishing
  • Imprint: Arcade Publishing
  • Date: Sept 2016
 

BAM Customer Reviews