menu
{ "item_title" : "Out of My Mind", "item_author" : [" Sharon M. Draper "], "item_description" : "A New York Times bestseller for three years and counting A gutsy, candid, and compelling story. It speaks volumes. --School Library Journal (starred review) Unflinching and realistic. --Kirkus Reviews (starred review) From award-winning author Sharon Draper comes a story that will forever change how we all look at anyone with a disability, perfect for fans of RJ Palacio's Wonder. Eleven-year-old Melody is not like most people. She can't walk. She can't talk. She can't write. All because she has cerebral palsy. But she also has a photographic memory; she can remember every detail of everything she has ever experienced. She's the smartest kid in her whole school, but NO ONE knows it. Most people--her teachers, her doctors, her classmates--dismiss her as mentally challenged because she can't tell them otherwise. But Melody refuses to be defined by her disability. And she's determined to let everyone know it...somehow.", "item_img_path" : "https://covers4.booksamillion.com/covers/bam/1/41/697/171/1416971718_b.jpg", "price_data" : { "retail_price" : "9.99", "online_price" : "8.79", "our_price" : "8.79", "club_price" : "8.79", "savings_pct" : "12", "savings_amt" : "1.20", "club_savings_pct" : "12", "club_savings_amt" : "1.20", "discount_pct" : "10", "store_price" : "9.99" } }
Out of My Mind|Sharon M. Draper

Overview

A New York Times bestseller for three years and counting

"A gutsy, candid, and compelling story. It speaks volumes." --School Library Journal (starred review)
"Unflinching and realistic." --Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

From award-winning author Sharon Draper comes a story that will forever change how we all look at anyone with a disability, perfect for fans of RJ Palacio's Wonder.

Eleven-year-old Melody is not like most people. She can't walk. She can't talk. She can't write. All because she has cerebral palsy. But she also has a photographic memory; she can remember every detail of everything she has ever experienced. She's the smartest kid in her whole school, but NO ONE knows it. Most people--her teachers, her doctors, her classmates--dismiss her as mentally challenged because she can't tell them otherwise. But Melody refuses to be defined by her disability. And she's determined to let everyone know it...somehow.

  • ISBN-13: 9781416971719
  • ISBN-10: 1416971718
  • Publisher: Atheneum Books for Young Readers
  • Publish Date: May 2012
  • Dimensions: 7.6 x 5.1 x 1 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.5 pounds
  • Page Count: 320
  • Reading Level: Ages 10-13