menu

The Outcast Girls : A completely heartbreaking and gripping World War 2 historical novel
by Shirley Dickson




Overview -

‘I just couldn't put this one down. I loved every page and I went through an entire box of tissues before I was done. You will keep turning the pages until the very end because you just won't be able to put it down at all.’ Crossroad Reviews, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

An utterly heartbreaking tale of two young girls, worlds apart, who are thrown together when they have lost everything. Fans of Wives of War, Before We Were Yours and Diney Costeloe will absolutely love this poignant and moving World War Two novel.

Germany, 1939: Eleven-year-old Frieda is boarding a ship bound for England with her little brother, Kurt. Life at home is perilous, with synagogues set alight and innocent lives lost to the Nazis, and they have no choice but to flee. But as Frieda stands on the deck crammed with frightened children, her brother jumps off, back to land.

England, 1939: After a devastating childhood at Blakely Hall Orphanage, seventeen-year-old Sandra longs to put her past behind her. But when war breaks out and her brother Alf is sent to fly bombers, she’s completely alone.

1943: When Sandra and Frieda’s paths cross in the remote countryside, each girl finds a home at last. Facing long, terrifying nights in bunkers, they huddle together as planes roar above them and distant explosions shake them to their cores. They console one another – Frieda, with no idea whether her family have been captured or if her brother survived, and Sandra praying that Alf will live to see tomorrow.

The darkness of war may shroud them but as long as they have each other, they can keep a little light in the world. Will Frieda and Sandra ever be reunited with their loved ones? And will the two handwritten letters bound their way hold news of happiness… or heartbreak?

Readers are losing their hearts to The Outcast Girls:

Wow. I was totally gone from Chapter 1… The story of Sandra and Freida is one I will not forget for a long time. Written with so much love! While this is my first book by this author it won’t be my last!’ Goodreads Reviewer

Heartbreaking and poignant… Best read with a box of tissues handy as this book is sure to make readers tear up and up again.’ Bookish Jottings

Outstanding… What a page-turner this beautifully written, heart-wrenching story… This is a realtug-at-your-heartstrings book.’ Chapter Chatter Pub, 5 stars

I can honestly say I loved it.’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

Impossible to put down… I unquestionably loved this book.’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

I didn’t want to put it down!... A beautifully written story that pulls at your heart strings

  Read Full Product Description
 

Download

Format: EPUB What's this?
Language: eng

This item is only available to U.S. billing addresses.

 
 
 
 

More About The Outcast Girls by Shirley Dickson

 
 
 

Overview

‘I just couldn't put this one down. I loved every page and I went through an entire box of tissues before I was done. You will keep turning the pages until the very end because you just won't be able to put it down at all.’ Crossroad Reviews, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

An utterly heartbreaking tale of two young girls, worlds apart, who are thrown together when they have lost everything. Fans of Wives of War, Before We Were Yours and Diney Costeloe will absolutely love this poignant and moving World War Two novel.

Germany, 1939: Eleven-year-old Frieda is boarding a ship bound for England with her little brother, Kurt. Life at home is perilous, with synagogues set alight and innocent lives lost to the Nazis, and they have no choice but to flee. But as Frieda stands on the deck crammed with frightened children, her brother jumps off, back to land.

England, 1939: After a devastating childhood at Blakely Hall Orphanage, seventeen-year-old Sandra longs to put her past behind her. But when war breaks out and her brother Alf is sent to fly bombers, she’s completely alone.

1943: When Sandra and Frieda’s paths cross in the remote countryside, each girl finds a home at last. Facing long, terrifying nights in bunkers, they huddle together as planes roar above them and distant explosions shake them to their cores. They console one another – Frieda, with no idea whether her family have been captured or if her brother survived, and Sandra praying that Alf will live to see tomorrow.

The darkness of war may shroud them but as long as they have each other, they can keep a little light in the world. Will Frieda and Sandra ever be reunited with their loved ones? And will the two handwritten letters bound their way hold news of happiness… or heartbreak?

Readers are losing their hearts to The Outcast Girls:

Wow. I was totally gone from Chapter 1… The story of Sandra and Freida is one I will not forget for a long time. Written with so much love! While this is my first book by this author it won’t be my last!’ Goodreads Reviewer

Heartbreaking and poignant… Best read with a box of tissues handy as this book is sure to make readers tear up and up again.’ Bookish Jottings

Outstanding… What a page-turner this beautifully written, heart-wrenching story… This is a realtug-at-your-heartstrings book.’ Chapter Chatter Pub, 5 stars

I can honestly say I loved it.’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

Impossible to put down… I unquestionably loved this book.’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

I didn’t want to put it down!... A beautifully written story that pulls at your heart strings



This item is Non-Returnable.

 

Details

  • ISBN: 9781838882495
  • Publisher: Bookouture
  • Imprint: Bookouture
  • Date: Jan 2020
  • Seller Statement: Sold by Hachette Book Group USA
 

BAM Customer Reviews