Penguin Minis : Between Shades of Gray
by Ruta Sepetys


Overview - From New York Times and international bestseller Ruta Sepetys comes a story of loss and of fear -- and ultimately, of survival. Now in a revolutionary new mini format, this read is more portable than ever.

Carnegie Medal winner Ruta Sepetys's debut is now available as a Penguin Mini edition. Complete and unabridged, the book's revolutionary landscape design and ultra-thin paper makes it easy to hold in one hand without sacrificing readability. Perfectly sized to slip into a pocket or bag, Penguin Minis are ideal for reading on the go.

"Few books are beautifully written, fewer still are important; this novel is both." --The Washington Post

* A New York Times bestseller
* A New York Times notable book
* An international bestseller
* A Carnegie Medal nominee
* A William C. Morris Award finalist

Fifteen-year-old Lina is a Lithuanian girl living an ordinary life -- until Soviet officers invade her home and tear her family apart. Separated from her father and forced onto a crowded train, Lina, her mother, and her young brother make their way to a Siberian work camp, where they are forced to fight for their lives. Lina finds solace in her art, documenting these events by drawing. Risking everything, she imbeds clues in her drawings of their location and secretly passes them along, hoping her drawings will make their way to her father's prison camp. But will strength, love, and hope be enough for Lina and her family to survive?
A moving and haunting novel perfect for readers of The Book Thief.

Praise for Between Shades of Gray

"Superlative. A hefty emotional punch." --The New York Times Book Review

"Heart-wrenching . . . an eye-opening reimagination of a very real tragedy written with grace and heart." --The Los Angeles Times

"At once a suspenseful, drama-packed survival story, a romance, and an intricately researched work of historial fiction." --The Wall Street Journal

* "Beautifully written and deeply felt . . . An important book that deserves the widest possible readership." --Booklist, starred review

  Read Full Product Description
 
PRE-ORDER NOW:
Preorder. This item will ship on July 23, 2019.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
 
 
 

More About Penguin Minis by Ruta Sepetys
 
 
 
Overview
From New York Times and international bestseller Ruta Sepetys comes a story of loss and of fear -- and ultimately, of survival. Now in a revolutionary new mini format, this read is more portable than ever.

Carnegie Medal winner Ruta Sepetys's debut is now available as a Penguin Mini edition. Complete and unabridged, the book's revolutionary landscape design and ultra-thin paper makes it easy to hold in one hand without sacrificing readability. Perfectly sized to slip into a pocket or bag, Penguin Minis are ideal for reading on the go.

"Few books are beautifully written, fewer still are important; this novel is both." --The Washington Post

* A New York Times bestseller
* A New York Times notable book
* An international bestseller
* A Carnegie Medal nominee
* A William C. Morris Award finalist

Fifteen-year-old Lina is a Lithuanian girl living an ordinary life -- until Soviet officers invade her home and tear her family apart. Separated from her father and forced onto a crowded train, Lina, her mother, and her young brother make their way to a Siberian work camp, where they are forced to fight for their lives. Lina finds solace in her art, documenting these events by drawing. Risking everything, she imbeds clues in her drawings of their location and secretly passes them along, hoping her drawings will make their way to her father's prison camp. But will strength, love, and hope be enough for Lina and her family to survive?
A moving and haunting novel perfect for readers of The Book Thief.

Praise for Between Shades of Gray

"Superlative. A hefty emotional punch." --The New York Times Book Review

"Heart-wrenching . . . an eye-opening reimagination of a very real tragedy written with grace and heart." --The Los Angeles Times

"At once a suspenseful, drama-packed survival story, a romance, and an intricately researched work of historial fiction." --The Wall Street Journal

* "Beautifully written and deeply felt . . . An important book that deserves the widest possible readership." --Booklist, starred review

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780593114476
  • ISBN-10: 0593114477
  • Publisher: Philomel Books
  • Publish Date: July 2019
  • Page Count: 720
  • Reading Level: Ages 12-UP


Related Categories

Books > Young Adult Fiction > Historical - Holocaust
Books > Young Adult Fiction > Historical - Europe
Books > Young Adult Fiction > Social Themes - Prejudice & Racism

 
BAM Customer Reviews