menu

Pie in the Sky
by Remy Lai and Remy Lai




Overview -

A poignant, laugh-out-loud illustrated middle-grade novel about an eleven-year-old boy's immigration experience, his annoying little brother, and their cake-baking hijinks Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang

A Parents Magazine Best Kids Book of the Year
A New York Public Library Best Book of the Year
An NPR Best Book of the Year
A Horn Book Best Book of the Year
A Kirkus Best Book of the Year
Recipient of FIVE starred reviews

Pie in the Sky
is like enjoying a decadent cake . . . heartwarming and rib-tickling. --Terri Libenson, bestselling author of Invisible Emmie

When Jingwen moves to a new country, he feels like he's landed on Mars. School is torture, making friends is impossible since he doesn't speak English, and he's often stuck looking after his (extremely irritating) little brother, Yanghao.

To distract himself from the loneliness, Jingwen daydreams about making all the cakes on the menu of Pie in the Sky, the bakery his father had planned to open before he unexpectedly passed away. The only problem is his mother has laid down one major rule: the brothers are not to use the oven while she's at work. As Jingwen and Yanghao bake elaborate cakes, they'll have to cook up elaborate excuses to keep the cake making a secret from Mama.

In her hilarious, moving middle-grade debut, Remy Lai delivers a scrumptious combination of vibrant graphic art and pitch-perfect writing that will appeal to fans of Shannon Hale and LeUyen Pham's Real Friends, Kelly Yang's Front Desk, and Jerry Craft's New Kid.

A Junior Library Guild selection

Seamlessly mixes together equal parts of humor, loss, identity, discovery, and love to create a delicious concoction of a story. . . illustrated beautifully with Lai's insightful drawings. --Veera Hiranandani, Newbery Honor-winning author of The Night Diary

* The humor is] akin to that of Jeff Kinney's popular "Wimpy Kid" series . . . the perfect mixture of funny and emotionally resonant. --School Library Journal, starred review

* "Perfect for fans of Gene Luen Yang and Victoria Jamieson." --Shelf Awareness, starred review

This title has common core connections.

  Read Full Product Description
 
local_shippingFor Delivery
In Stock.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help
 
storeBuy Online Pickup At Store
search store by zipcode

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 26 copies from $15.68
 
 
 
 

More About Pie in the Sky by Remy Lai; Remy Lai

 
 
 

Overview

A poignant, laugh-out-loud illustrated middle-grade novel about an eleven-year-old boy's immigration experience, his annoying little brother, and their cake-baking hijinks Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang

A Parents Magazine Best Kids Book of the Year
A New York Public Library Best Book of the Year
An NPR Best Book of the Year
A Horn Book Best Book of the Year
A Kirkus Best Book of the Year
Recipient of FIVE starred reviews

Pie in the Sky
is like enjoying a decadent cake . . . heartwarming and rib-tickling. --Terri Libenson, bestselling author of Invisible Emmie

When Jingwen moves to a new country, he feels like he's landed on Mars. School is torture, making friends is impossible since he doesn't speak English, and he's often stuck looking after his (extremely irritating) little brother, Yanghao.

To distract himself from the loneliness, Jingwen daydreams about making all the cakes on the menu of Pie in the Sky, the bakery his father had planned to open before he unexpectedly passed away. The only problem is his mother has laid down one major rule: the brothers are not to use the oven while she's at work. As Jingwen and Yanghao bake elaborate cakes, they'll have to cook up elaborate excuses to keep the cake making a secret from Mama.

In her hilarious, moving middle-grade debut, Remy Lai delivers a scrumptious combination of vibrant graphic art and pitch-perfect writing that will appeal to fans of Shannon Hale and LeUyen Pham's Real Friends, Kelly Yang's Front Desk, and Jerry Craft's New Kid.

A Junior Library Guild selection

Seamlessly mixes together equal parts of humor, loss, identity, discovery, and love to create a delicious concoction of a story. . . illustrated beautifully with Lai's insightful drawings. --Veera Hiranandani, Newbery Honor-winning author of The Night Diary

* The humor is] akin to that of Jeff Kinney's popular "Wimpy Kid" series . . . the perfect mixture of funny and emotionally resonant. --School Library Journal, starred review

* "Perfect for fans of Gene Luen Yang and Victoria Jamieson." --Shelf Awareness, starred review

This title has common core connections.


 

Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781250314093
  • ISBN-10: 1250314097
  • Publisher: Henry Holt & Company
  • Publish Date: May 2019
  • Page Count: 384
  • Reading Level: Ages 8-11
  • Dimensions: 8.1 x 5.6 x 1.5 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.15 pounds


Related Categories

 

BAM Customer Reviews