menu

Playlist for the Dead
by Michelle Falkoff




Overview -

"A page-turner that combines genuine intrigue with heartbreak and desire." --Holly Goldberg Sloan, New York Times bestselling author of Counting by 7s

Part mystery, part love story, and part coming-of-age tale in the vein of Thirteen Reasons Why, The Perks of Being a Wallflower, and The Spectacular Now, Michelle Falkoff's debut is an honest and gut-wrenching novel about loss, rage, what if feels like to outgrow a friendship that's always defined you--and the struggle to redefine yourself.

There was a party. There was a fight. The next morning, Sam's best friend, Hayden, was dead. And all he left Sam was a playlist of songs and a suicide note: For Sam--listen and you'll understand.

To figure out what happened, Sam has to rely on the playlist and his own memory. But the more he listens, the more he realizes that his memory isn't as reliable as he thought. And it might only be by taking out his earbuds and opening his eyes to the people around him that he'll finally be able to piece together his best friend's story. And maybe have a chance to change his own.

"An absorbing and sensitive read." --Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

"Falkoff lightens the substantial topics of grief, bullying, and suicide with Sam's engaging investigation." --ALA Booklist

"Realistic and well-written. The strong characters, dialogue and the use of the playlist to structure the book make this a good pick for struggling readers." --School Library Journal

"Falkoff treats a difficult topic with delicacy and care." --Publishers Weekly

"Truly powerful moments." --Kirkus Reviews

  Read Full Product Description
 
local_shippingFor Delivery
In Stock.
This item is Non-Returnable.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help
 
storeBuy Online Pickup At Store
search store by zipcode

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 18 copies from $3.45
 
 
 
 

More About Playlist for the Dead by Michelle Falkoff

 
 
 

Overview

"A page-turner that combines genuine intrigue with heartbreak and desire." --Holly Goldberg Sloan, New York Times bestselling author of Counting by 7s

Part mystery, part love story, and part coming-of-age tale in the vein of Thirteen Reasons Why, The Perks of Being a Wallflower, and The Spectacular Now, Michelle Falkoff's debut is an honest and gut-wrenching novel about loss, rage, what if feels like to outgrow a friendship that's always defined you--and the struggle to redefine yourself.

There was a party. There was a fight. The next morning, Sam's best friend, Hayden, was dead. And all he left Sam was a playlist of songs and a suicide note: For Sam--listen and you'll understand.

To figure out what happened, Sam has to rely on the playlist and his own memory. But the more he listens, the more he realizes that his memory isn't as reliable as he thought. And it might only be by taking out his earbuds and opening his eyes to the people around him that he'll finally be able to piece together his best friend's story. And maybe have a chance to change his own.

"An absorbing and sensitive read." --Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

"Falkoff lightens the substantial topics of grief, bullying, and suicide with Sam's engaging investigation." --ALA Booklist

"Realistic and well-written. The strong characters, dialogue and the use of the playlist to structure the book make this a good pick for struggling readers." --School Library Journal

"Falkoff treats a difficult topic with delicacy and care." --Publishers Weekly

"Truly powerful moments." --Kirkus Reviews



This item is Non-Returnable.

 

Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780062310514
  • ISBN-10: 0062310518
  • Publisher: HarperCollins
  • Publish Date: October 2016
  • Page Count: 304
  • Reading Level: Ages 14-17
  • Dimensions: 8 x 5.4 x 0.8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.5 pounds


Related Categories

 

BAM Customer Reviews