Prodigy : Legend Series, Book 2
by Marie Lu and Steven Kaplan and Mariel Stern


Overview - The second book in Marie Lu's New York Time s bestselling LEGEND trilogy—perfect for fans of THE HUNGER GAMES and DIVERGENT!
June and Day arrive in Vegas just as the unthinkable happens: the Elector Primo dies, and his son Anden takes his place.
  Read more...


 

Download
This item is only available to U.S. and Canada billing addresses.
Language: Language: 

 
 

More About Prodigy by Marie Lu; Steven Kaplan; Mariel Stern
 
 
 
Overview

The second book in Marie Lu's New York Times bestselling LEGEND trilogy—perfect for fans of THE HUNGER GAMES and DIVERGENT!
June and Day arrive in Vegas just as the unthinkable happens: the Elector Primo dies, and his son Anden takes his place. With the Republic edging closer to chaos, the two join a group of Patriot rebels eager to help Day rescue his brother and offer passage to the Colonies. They have only one request—June and Day must assassinate the new Elector.

It's their chance to change the nation, to give voice to a people silenced for too long.

But as June realizes this Elector is nothing like his father, she's haunted by the choice ahead. What if Anden is a new beginning? What if revolution must be more than loss and vengeance, anger and blood—what if the Patriots are wrong?

In this highly-anticipated sequel to the New York Times bestseller Legend, Lu delivers a breathtaking thriller with high stakes and cinematic action.

"Masterful." —The Los Angeles Times
"Lu's action-packed series is the real deal." Entertainment Weekly

From the Trade Paperback edition.

 
Details
  • Publisher: Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Gr
  • Date: Jan 2013
 
Excerpts

From the cover

MAKING BLIND PROMISES

"I'll be blunt with you. Your skills are not as valuable to me as they used to be, Day. Over the years, we've recruited other Runners—and now, with all due respect, adding another one to our team isn't a priority. Your friend already knows"—he pauses to nod at June—"that the Patriots are not a charity. You're asking us for a great deal of help. What will you give us in return? You can't be carrying much money."

June gives me a pointed look. If the Patriots turn us down, we'll really be on our own. "We don't have a lot of money," I admit. "I'm not going to speak for June, but if there is anything I can do in exchange for your help, just say the word."

"I'd be happy to take you in, and you'll both be well cared for. In return, we'd ask for your help with a new project. No questions asked. But you'll both need to pledge your allegiance to the Patriots before I'll reveal any details about what you'll be doing. These are my terms. What do you think?"

June looks from me to Razor. Then she lifts her chin higher. "I'm in. I'll pledge allegiance to the Patriots."

There's a slight falter in her words, like she knows she's truly turned her back on the Republic. The fact that she said yes tugs at my heart. If June is giving herself to the Patriots, then she must realize that we have no better choice. And she's doing this for my sake. I raise my own voice. "Me too."

Razor smiles, rises from the couch, and holds up his drink as if to toast us. "It's official, then. You're going to help us assassinate the new Elector Primo."

In LEGEND, you met Day, a wanted criminal, and June, the government's most promising asset. When June's brother is murdered, Day becomes the prime suspect. But when they meet, the truth is unleashed, and together, they fight for revenge . . . and each other.

PRODIGY takes you deeper into the revolution. June and Day have escaped from the Republic's stronghold in Las Vegas just as the Elector Primo dies, leaving his son to take his place. But is the new Elector anything like his father? And was joining the Patriot rebels the right decision for June and Day?

The trilogy concludes with CHAMPION, and surprises are in wait. You may think you know what's coming . . . but even June and Day are shocked by how their story ends.

LAS VEGAS, NEVADA

REPUBLIC OF AMERICA

POPULATION: 7,427,431

JAN. 4. 1932 HOURS.

OCEAN STANDARD TIME.

THIRTY-FIVE DAYS AFTER METIAS'S DEATH.

DAY JOLTS AWAKE BESIDE ME. HIS BROW IS COVERED with sweat, and his cheeks are wet with tears. He's breathing heavily.

I lean over him and brush a wet strand of hair out of his face. The scrape on my shoulder has scabbed over already, but my movement makes it throb again. Day sits up, rubs a hand wearily across his eyes, and glances around our swaying railcar as if searching for something. He looks first at the stacks of crates in one dark corner, then at the burlap lining the floor and the little sack of food and water sitting between us. It takes him a minute to reorient himself, to remember that we're hitching a ride on a train bound for Vegas. A few seconds pass before he releases his rigid posture and lets himself sag back against the wall.

I gently tap his hand. "Are you okay?" That's become my constant question.

Day shrugs. "Yeah," he mutters. "Nightmare."

Nine days have passed since we broke out of Batalla Hall and escaped Los Angeles. Since then, Day has had nightmares every time he's closed his eyes. When we first got away and were able to catch a few hours of rest in an abandoned train yard, Day bolted awake...

 
BAM Customer Reviews