The Progressive Presidents|John Morton Blum
The Progressive Presidents : Theodore Roosevelt, Woodrow Wilson, Franklin D. Roosevelt, Lyndon B. Johnson
local_shippingFor Delivery
In Stock.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help


Advocates of a strong versus a weak presidency have struggled throughout American history, but never so fiercely as in the twentieth century, which saw the rise of progressivism. This is the story of four progressive presidents, from the first Roosevelt, who himself brought plenty of backbone to the office, to Woodrow Wilson, who articulated the theory of a progressive presidency, to FDR, who brought it unique power, and, finally, to Lyndon Johnson, who provided perhaps its last great surge in our century. In a time of progressive malaise, it is important to know the history, to see the benefits as well as the liabilities, in the progressive presidential tradition. That is the aim and achievement of this book.


  • ISBN-13: 9780393000634
  • ISBN-10: 039300063X
  • Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company
  • Publish Date: November 1982
  • Dimensions: 8 x 5 x 0.6 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.5 pounds
  • Page Count: 224