menu
{ "item_title" : "The Promise", "item_author" : [" Ruth Saberton "], "item_description" : "From the bestselling Winston Graham Historical Fiction for Prize shortlisted author comes The Promise, the new beautiful and heartbreaking novel set in Cornwall between the Second World War and the present day. Perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Lucinda Riley, it is a story of lost friendship, forbidden love and closely kept secrets.The PromiseA wartime secret has lain buried for over seventy years - but it can't stay concealed for ever...When Nell Summers discovers a handful of photographs hidden among her late father's belongings, the faded image of a handsome soldier leads her to question everything she knows. Half truths and shifting secrets reveal clues and Nell is drawn to Cornwall in search of answers. A secluded house, neglected garden and crumbling Second World War defences offer some explanations but does anyone remain who might remember the truth? What became of a forgotten childhood friendship? And whose long ago promise was broken with such devastating consequences?With the last person who holds the key to the mystery wandering in a maze of fading memories, the race against time is on. But as she explores her family history, Nell must also confront the shadows of her own past and old secrets deeper and darker than she could ever imagine ...This haunting and beautiful novel is set in Cornwall and reminiscent of Daphne du Maurier and Rosamunde Pilcher. Romantic and moving, it is a tale of loss and love, the devastation of war and the brave generation who sacrificed everything to fight for freedom. The Promise is a powerful novel of heart-break, friendship and love, with characters - and an ending - the reader won't forget. What readers are saying about Ruth Saberton: One of my books of the year, Being Anne.Will break your heart and touch your soul. Amazon Vine reviewer", "item_img_path" : "https://covers4.booksamillion.com/covers/bam/0/99/559/019/0995590192_b.jpg", "price_data" : { "retail_price" : "14.99", "online_price" : "14.99", "our_price" : "14.99", "club_price" : "14.99", "savings_pct" : "0", "savings_amt" : "0.00", "club_savings_pct" : "0", "club_savings_amt" : "0.00", "discount_pct" : "10", "store_price" : "" } }
The Promise|Ruth Saberton
The Promise
local_shippingFor Delivery
In Stock.
This item is Non-Returnable.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help

Overview

From the bestselling Winston Graham Historical Fiction for Prize shortlisted author comes The Promise, the new beautiful and heartbreaking novel set in Cornwall between the Second World War and the present day. Perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Lucinda Riley, it is a story of lost friendship, forbidden love and closely kept secrets.
The Promise
A wartime secret has lain buried for over seventy years - but it can't stay concealed for ever...When Nell Summers discovers a handful of photographs hidden among her late father's belongings, the faded image of a handsome soldier leads her to question everything she knows. Half truths and shifting secrets reveal clues and Nell is drawn to Cornwall in search of answers. A secluded house, neglected garden and crumbling Second World War defences offer some explanations but does anyone remain who might remember the truth? What became of a forgotten childhood friendship? And whose long ago promise was broken with such devastating consequences?With the last person who holds the key to the mystery wandering in a maze of fading memories, the race against time is on. But as she explores her family history, Nell must also confront the shadows of her own past and old secrets deeper and darker than she could ever imagine ...

This haunting and beautiful novel is set in Cornwall and reminiscent of Daphne du Maurier and Rosamunde Pilcher. Romantic and moving, it is a tale of loss and love, the devastation of war and the brave generation who sacrificed everything to fight for freedom.

The Promise is a powerful novel of heart-break, friendship and love, with characters - and an ending - the reader won't forget.

What readers are saying about Ruth Saberton:

"One of my books of the year," Being Anne.
"Will break your heart and touch your soul." Amazon Vine reviewer


This item is Non-Returnable

  • ISBN-13: 9780995590199
  • ISBN-10: 0995590192
  • Publisher: Millington
  • Publish Date: July 2019
  • Dimensions: 9 x 6 x 0.8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.16 pounds
  • Page Count: 358