Saxophone Colossus
Sonny Rollins

  • $21.98
+ Add to Wishlist
local_shippingFor Delivery
Sorry: This item is not currently available.
This item is Non-Returnable.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help
storeBuy Online Pickup At Store
search store by zipcode


More About Saxophone Colossus



Track Listing

1 St. Thomas
2 You Don't Know What Love Is
3 Strode Rode
4 Moritat
5 Blue 7

Featured Artists: Max Roach and Tommy Flanagan and Doug Watkins



  • Genre: Jazz Instrument
  • Release Date: September 2011
  • Label: OJC
  • Format: Vinyl
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Audio Format: Mono
  • Producer: Bob Weinstock
  • Engineer: Rudy VanGelder

Music Reviews

Editorial Reviews

Down Beat - 5 Stars - Excellent "...Rollins displays humor, gentleness, a delicate feeling for beauty....I find this entire album excellent on all counts and for all persons concerned."

JazzTimes (4/96, pp.79-80) - "The title is not hyperbole....Important as some of his later work has been, the tenor saxophonist's levels of thematic development, assurance, humor and general creative force in SAXOPHONE COLOSSUS remain unequaled....this is an essential album."

Vibe (12/99, p.162) - Included in Vibe's 100 Essential Albums of the 20th Century

Record Collector (magazine) (p.93) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "[A] masterwork of tenor saxophone improvisation that kicks off with the classic 'St Thomas'..."


BAM Customer Reviews