Something More Than Free
Jason Isbell

local_shippingFor Delivery
In Stock.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help
storeBuy Online Pickup At Store
search store by zipcode


More About Something More Than Free



Track Listing

1 If It Takes a Lifetime
2 24 Frames
3 Flagship
4 How to Forget
5 Children of Children
6 Life You Chose, The
7 Something More Than Free
8 Speed Trap Town
9 Hudson Commodore
10 Palmetto Rose
11 To a Band That I Loved



  • Genre: Rock & Pop
  • Release Date: July 2015
  • Label: Southeastern Records
  • Format: CD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Producer: Dave Cobb
  • Engineer: Matt Ross-Spang

Music Reviews

Editorial Reviews

Spin - "SOUTHEASTERN was a showcase of Isbell's songwriting prowess, and a compelling bookend to a dark period of his life, but SOMETHING lends some necessary light to his grave solemnity."

Entertainment Weekly - "Isbell continues to deliver sepia-toned vignettes about blue-collar life, proving this 36-year-old is one of America's greatest (and continually underrated) songsmiths."

Magnet - "It's nuanced, more prone to the soft than the loud dynamic...But it's just that rocksolid, sober grounding that gives SOMETHING MORE THAN FREE its extraordinary heart and intestinal fortitude."

Billboard - 4 stars out of 5 -- "[T]he achingly good SOMETHING MORE THAN FREE, captures the mix of excitement and fear that comes when the sun rises on a new day."

Paste (magazine) - "[A] collection of 11 new tunes by turns mournful, pungent and quietly devastating. Isbell has over the years become a more patient lyricist, carefully honing his words into needle-sharp points that penetrate without making a visible mark."


BAM Customer Reviews