Songs for Christmas
Sufjan Stevens

local_shippingFor Delivery
Sorry: This item is not currently available.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help
storeBuy Online Pickup At Store
search store by zipcode


More About Songs for Christmas



Track Listing

1 Silent Night
2 O Come O Come Emmanuel
3 We're Goin' to the Country!
4 Lo! How a Rose E'er Blooming
5 It's Christmas! Let's Be Glad!
6 Holy Holy, Etc.
7 Amazing Grace
1 Angels We Have Heard on High
2 Put the Lights on the Tree
3 Come Thou Fount of Every Blessing
4 I Saw Three Ships
5 Only at Christmas Time
6 Once in Royal David's City
7 Hark! The Herald Angels Sing!
8 What Child Is This Anyway?
9 Bring a Torch, Jeanette, Isabella
1 O Come O Come Emmanuel
2 Come on! Let's Boogey to the Elf Dance!
3 We Three Kings
4 O Holy Night
5 That Was the Worst Christmas Ever!
6 Ding! Dong!
7 All the King's Horns
8 Friendly Beasts, The
1 Little Drummer Boy, The
2 Away in a Manger
3 Hey Guys! It's Christmas Time!
4 First Noel, The
5 Did I Make You Cry on Christmas Day? (Well, You Deserved It!)
6 Incarnation, The
7 Joy to the World
1 Once in Royal David's City
2 Get Behind Me, Santa!
3 Jingle Bells
4 Christmas in July
5 Lo! How a Rose E'er Blooming
6 Jupiter Winter
7 Sister Winter
8 O Come O Come Emmanuel
9 Star of Wonder
10 Holy, Holy, Holy
11 Winter Solstice, The



  • Genre: Rock & Pop
  • Release Date: November 2006
  • Label: Asthmatic Kitty
  • Format: CD
  • Number of Discs: 5
  • Audio Format: Stereo
  • Engineer: Colin Stevens; Monique Aiuto; Denison Witmer; Laura Myers; Vito Aiuto; Bridgit DeCook; Matt Morgan; Sufjan Stevens; Casey Foubert; Shara Worden

Music Reviews

Editorial Reviews

Rolling Stone (p.114) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "Stevens' fragile banjo-and-tenor caroling is lovely, and several of his own songs belong in the Xmas canon..."

Entertainment Weekly (p.85) - "[His] rare combination of deep religiosity and dark whimsy makes SONGS FOR CHRISTMAS the season's most thrilling holiday release." -- Grade: A

Q (p.152) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "Amassing 42 tracks, from the traditional to whimsical originals, it's testament to his prolific work rate. There's not shortage of seasonal cheer either..."

Uncut (p.98) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "The tone is generally one of mild encouragement....The tracks offering a slightly askance look at the festive season are most entertaining..."

CMJ (p.5) - "[T]racks meant to bring peace on earth and goodwill towards men....There isn't much not to like here."

Paste (magazine) - "This is Sufjan Stevens at his most freewheeling and joyful, and it offers not only an unorthodox soundtrack to the season but another opportunity to trace the musical evolution of one of our greatest living songwriters."

Record Collector (magazine) (pp.94-95) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "[I]t would be a great pleasure to hear these 42 tracks at any time of year....There are banjos, unexpected synths and, of course, sleigh bells galore."


BAM Customer Reviews