The Stranger
Billy Joel

local_shippingFor Delivery
In Stock.
This item is Non-Returnable.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help
storeBuy Online Pickup At Store
search store by zipcode


More About The Stranger



Track Listing

1 Movin' Out (Anthony's Song)
2 Stranger, The
3 Just the Way You Are
4 Scenes From an Italian Restaurant
5 Vienna
6 Only the Good Die Young
7 She's Always a Woman
8 Get It Right the First Time
9 Everybody Has a Dream
1 Miami 2017 (I've Seen the Lights Go Out On Broadway - (live)
2 Prelude/Angry Young Man - (live)
3 New York State of Mind - (live)
4 Just the Way You Are - (live)
5 She's Got a Way - (live)
6 Entertainer, The - (live)
7 Scenes From an Italian Restaurant - (live)
8 Band Introductions - (live)
9 Captain Jack - (live)
10 I've Loved These Days - (live)
11 Say Goodbye To Hollywood - (live)
12 Souvenir - (live)



  • Genre: Rock & Pop
  • Release Date: March 2014
  • Label: Legacy
  • Format: Vinyl
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Audio Format: Stereo

Music Reviews

Editorial Reviews

Rolling Stone (p.96) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "[T]here's impressive variety here: contemplative ballads...and impressionistic epics....Joel's melodic genius invites comparisons to Paul McCartney..."

Rolling Stone (12/11/03, p.113) - Ranked #67 in Rolling Stone's "500 Greatest Albums Of All Time" - "...The real pleasure here is the specificity of the lyrics in the rock songs located in New York..."

Q (Magazine) (p.118) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "After four albums yielded only minor-league status, Billy JOel penned the most durable songs of his career....He was at the top of his game here."

Blender (Magazine) (p.93) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "A record where saxophones trump guitars and the piano is nearly the cradle of civilization, THE STRANGER cut against any number of grains in the era just after disco and punk had broken out..."


BAM Customer Reviews