menu

The Secret Letter
by Debbie Rix and Jacqueline King




Overview -

Germany, 1939. A tumbledown farmhouse, on the outskirts of a close-knit village in the heart of the rolling hills of Bavaria. A once happy family home torn apart by Nazi rule. And one young girl who refuses to give up on what she believes in....

London, 2018: When 94-year-old Imogen receives a letter addressed to her in neat, unfamiliar handwriting, she notices the postmark is stamped from Germany - and it sends shivers down her spine....

Germany, 1939: Thirteen-year-old Magda is devastated by the loss of her best friend, shy and gentle Lotte, cruelly snatched from her and sent to a concentration camp - the Star of David sewn on her faded, brown coat. As the Nazi's power takes hold, Magda realises she's not like the other girls in her German village - she hates the fanatical new rules of the Hitler Youth. So Magda secretly joins The White Rose Movement and begins to rebel against the oppressive, frightening world around her.

But when an English bomber pilot crashes in a field near Magda's home she is faced with an impossible choice: to risk the safety of her family or to save a stranger and make a difference in the devastating war that has claimed the lives of so many. Little does she know, her actions will have the power to change the life of another girl, on the other side of enemy lines, forever....

Inspired by a true story, this is a heart-wrenching, gripping and absolutely unforgettable tale of the strength of human kindness in a time of unimaginable heartbreak. Fans of Orphan Train, The Tattooist of Auschwitz and The Book Thief will be utterly gripped by this beautiful, sweeping, World War Two novel.

  Read Full Product Description
 
Audio MP3 CD - Unabridged
  • $29.99
Add to Cart
+ Add to Wishlist
local_shippingFor Delivery
On Order. Usually ships in 2-4 weeks
FREE Shipping for Club Members help
 
storeBuy Online Pickup At Store
search store by zipcode

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 5 copies from $19.70
 
 
 
 

More About The Secret Letter by Debbie Rix; Jacqueline King

 
 
 

Overview

Germany, 1939. A tumbledown farmhouse, on the outskirts of a close-knit village in the heart of the rolling hills of Bavaria. A once happy family home torn apart by Nazi rule. And one young girl who refuses to give up on what she believes in....

London, 2018: When 94-year-old Imogen receives a letter addressed to her in neat, unfamiliar handwriting, she notices the postmark is stamped from Germany - and it sends shivers down her spine....

Germany, 1939: Thirteen-year-old Magda is devastated by the loss of her best friend, shy and gentle Lotte, cruelly snatched from her and sent to a concentration camp - the Star of David sewn on her faded, brown coat. As the Nazi's power takes hold, Magda realises she's not like the other girls in her German village - she hates the fanatical new rules of the Hitler Youth. So Magda secretly joins The White Rose Movement and begins to rebel against the oppressive, frightening world around her.

But when an English bomber pilot crashes in a field near Magda's home she is faced with an impossible choice: to risk the safety of her family or to save a stranger and make a difference in the devastating war that has claimed the lives of so many. Little does she know, her actions will have the power to change the life of another girl, on the other side of enemy lines, forever....

Inspired by a true story, this is a heart-wrenching, gripping and absolutely unforgettable tale of the strength of human kindness in a time of unimaginable heartbreak. Fans of Orphan Train, The Tattooist of Auschwitz and The Book Thief will be utterly gripped by this beautiful, sweeping, World War Two novel.


 

Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781713524151
  • ISBN-10: 1713524155
  • Publisher: Audible Studios on Brilliance
  • Publish Date: May 2020
  • Dimensions: 6.7 x 5.2 x 0.3 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.22 pounds


Related Categories

 

BAM Customer Reviews