menu

The Secret Lives of the Four Wives
by Lola Shoneyin




Overview -

African-born poet Lola Shoneyin sheds a fascinating light on the little-known world of polygamy in modern-day Nigeria, in her powerful and thought-provoking debut novel, The Secret Lives of the Four Wives (previously titled The Secret Lives of Baba Segi's Wives). Fans of The 19th Wife and HBO's Big Love will be enthralled by this riveting tale of a prosperous African family thrown into turmoil when the patriarch adds a young, well-educated fourth wife into the mix who threatens to expose the other wives' deepest, darkest secrets.

"Alternately funny, shocking, and sad . . . a complex depiction of family and culture in modern-day Nigeria.
--Sacramento Book Review

"A magical writer. . . . A] delicious story."--Huffington Post


  Read Full Product Description
 
local_shippingFor Delivery
In Stock.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help
 
storeBuy Online Pickup At Store
search store by zipcode

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 66 copies from $3.45
 
 
 
 

More About The Secret Lives of the Four Wives by Lola Shoneyin

 
 
 

Overview

African-born poet Lola Shoneyin sheds a fascinating light on the little-known world of polygamy in modern-day Nigeria, in her powerful and thought-provoking debut novel, The Secret Lives of the Four Wives (previously titled The Secret Lives of Baba Segi's Wives). Fans of The 19th Wife and HBO's Big Love will be enthralled by this riveting tale of a prosperous African family thrown into turmoil when the patriarch adds a young, well-educated fourth wife into the mix who threatens to expose the other wives' deepest, darkest secrets.

"Alternately funny, shocking, and sad . . . a complex depiction of family and culture in modern-day Nigeria.
--Sacramento Book Review

"A magical writer. . . . A] delicious story."--Huffington Post



 

Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780061946387
  • ISBN-10: 0061946389
  • Publisher: William Morrow & Company
  • Publish Date: July 2011
  • Page Count: 304
  • Dimensions: 7.9 x 5.3 x 0.7 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.5 pounds


Related Categories

 

BAM Customer Reviews