menu

The Secret Sky : A Novel of Forbidden Love in Afghanistan
by Atia Abawi




Overview -
An eye-opening, heart-rending tale of love, honor and betrayal from veteran foreign news correspodent Atia Abawi

Fatima is a Hazara girl, raised to be obedient and dutiful. Samiullah is a Pashtun boy raised to defend the traditions of his tribe. They were not meant to fall in love. But they do. And the story that follows shows both the beauty and the violence in current-day Afghanistan as Fatima and Samiullah fight their families, their cultures and the Taliban to stay together. Based on the people Atia Abawi met and the events she covered during her nearly five years in Afghanistan, this stunning novel is a must-read for anyone who has lived during America's War in Afghanistan.

Perfect for fans of Patricia McCormick, Linda Sue Park, and Khaled Hosseini, this story will stay with readers for a long time to come.

* "A suspenseful, enlightening, and hopeful love story." Publishers Weekly, starred review

"Riveting plot, sympathetic characters and straightforward narration studded with vivid, authentic detail: a top choice." - Kirkus review

"Heartbreaking and heartwarming." - VOYA review

  Read Full Product Description
 
local_shippingFor Delivery
On Order. Usually ships in 2-4 weeks
This item is Non-Returnable.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help
 
storeBuy Online Pickup At Store
search store by zipcode

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 12 copies from $3.99
 
Download

Format: EPUB What's this?
This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 

More About The Secret Sky by Atia Abawi

 
 
 

Overview

An eye-opening, heart-rending tale of love, honor and betrayal from veteran foreign news correspodent Atia Abawi

Fatima is a Hazara girl, raised to be obedient and dutiful. Samiullah is a Pashtun boy raised to defend the traditions of his tribe. They were not meant to fall in love. But they do. And the story that follows shows both the beauty and the violence in current-day Afghanistan as Fatima and Samiullah fight their families, their cultures and the Taliban to stay together. Based on the people Atia Abawi met and the events she covered during her nearly five years in Afghanistan, this stunning novel is a must-read for anyone who has lived during America's War in Afghanistan.

Perfect for fans of Patricia McCormick, Linda Sue Park, and Khaled Hosseini, this story will stay with readers for a long time to come.

* "A suspenseful, enlightening, and hopeful love story." Publishers Weekly, starred review

"Riveting plot, sympathetic characters and straightforward narration studded with vivid, authentic detail: a top choice." - Kirkus review

"Heartbreaking and heartwarming." - VOYA review


This item is Non-Returnable.

 

Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780142424063
  • ISBN-10: 0142424064
  • Publisher: Speak
  • Publish Date: June 2015
  • Page Count: 320
  • Reading Level: Ages 14-UP
  • Dimensions: 8.1 x 5.5 x 0.9 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.6 pounds


Related Categories

 

BAM Customer Reviews