Something Like Gravity
by Amber Smith


Overview - For fans of Love, Simon and Eleanor & Park, a romantic and sweet novel about a transgender boy who falls in love for the first time--and how first love changes us all--from New York Times bestselling author Amber Smith.

Chris and Maia aren't off to a great start.

A near-fatal car accident first brings them together, and their next encounters don't fare much better. Chris's good intentions backfire. Maia's temper gets the best of her.

But they're neighbors, at least for the summer, and despite their best efforts, they just can't seem to stay away from each other.

The path forward isn't easy. Chris has come out as transgender, but he's still processing a frightening assault he survived the year before. Maia is grieving the loss of her older sister and trying to find her place in the world without her. Falling in love was the last thing on either of their minds.

But would it be so bad if it happened anyway?

  Read Full Product Description
 
Hardcover
  • Retail Price: $18.99
  • $15.19
    (Save 20%)
Add to Cart
+ Add to Wishlist
In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 29 copies from $11.50
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 

More About Something Like Gravity by Amber Smith
 
 
 
Overview
For fans of Love, Simon and Eleanor & Park, a romantic and sweet novel about a transgender boy who falls in love for the first time--and how first love changes us all--from New York Times bestselling author Amber Smith.

Chris and Maia aren't off to a great start.

A near-fatal car accident first brings them together, and their next encounters don't fare much better. Chris's good intentions backfire. Maia's temper gets the best of her.

But they're neighbors, at least for the summer, and despite their best efforts, they just can't seem to stay away from each other.

The path forward isn't easy. Chris has come out as transgender, but he's still processing a frightening assault he survived the year before. Maia is grieving the loss of her older sister and trying to find her place in the world without her. Falling in love was the last thing on either of their minds.

But would it be so bad if it happened anyway?

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781534437180
  • ISBN-10: 1534437185
  • Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books
  • Publish Date: June 2019
  • Page Count: 400
  • Reading Level: Ages 13-17
  • Dimensions: 8.3 x 5.8 x 1.4 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.08 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Young Adult Fiction > Romance - LGBT
Books > Young Adult Fiction > Social Themes - New Experience
Books > Young Adult Fiction > Family - General (see also headings under Social Themes)

 
BookPage Reviews

Something Like Gravity

Guards are let down, secrets are revealed, and love blossoms in Amber Smith’s Something Like Gravity

Still processing the aftereffects of an frightening assault, newly out transgender teen Chris goes to his Aunt Isobel’s house for the summer. His new neighbor, Maia, is still grieving the sudden loss of her older sister. A near-fatal accident brings the two together when Maia is trying to take a photograph in the middle of the street and Chris is test--driving his aunt’s old station wagon. They get off on the wrong foot as neighbors, but soon their relationship beautifully unfurls into a romance.

Chris and Maia’s alternating points of view give the reader a bird’s-eye view of how the teens process their feelings both for one another and within themselves. With admirable gentleness and empathy, Chris and Maia explore their burgeoning relationship, slowly revealing their innermost secrets while holding some back. While sensitively tackling subjects of first love, acceptance and friendship, Smith expertly chronicles her characters’ twin journeys of grief and coming out, as well as what it takes to move on despite seemingly permanent damage. 

While readers should be warned that the flashbacks to Chris’ assault are intense, Something Like Gravity is perfect for fans of Meredith Russo’s If I Was Your Girl and Lisa Williamson’s The Art of Being Normal.

 
BAM Customer Reviews