menu

Song of Scarabaeus
by Sara Creasy




Overview -
"A powerful debut....Gripping characterization, non-stop action, fascinating biological speculation, and a dash of romance. Don't miss it "
--Linnea Sinclair

Remember the name: Sara Creasy. With Song of Scarabaeus she takes her place alongside Ann Aguirre and Linnea Sinclair, staking her claim as one of the most exciting new writers currently rocketing across the science fiction universe. Seamlessly blending action, romance, intrigue, technology, and a tough, complex, and unforgettable heroine in the vein of Elizabeth Moon, Creasy boldly goes where few have traveled before. No wonder author Vonda N. McIntyre declares that "Sara Creasy is a new writer to watch, and Song of Scarabaeus is a novel to read and enjoy."

  Read Full Product Description
 
Mass Market Paperback
  • $7.99
Add to Cart
+ Add to Wishlist
local_shippingFor Delivery
On Order. Usually ships in 2-4 weeks
This item is Non-Returnable.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help
 
storeBuy Online Pickup At Store
search store by zipcode

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 39 copies from $2.99
 
 
 

More About Song of Scarabaeus by Sara Creasy

 
 
 

Overview

"A powerful debut....Gripping characterization, non-stop action, fascinating biological speculation, and a dash of romance. Don't miss it "
--Linnea Sinclair

Remember the name: Sara Creasy. With Song of Scarabaeus she takes her place alongside Ann Aguirre and Linnea Sinclair, staking her claim as one of the most exciting new writers currently rocketing across the science fiction universe. Seamlessly blending action, romance, intrigue, technology, and a tough, complex, and unforgettable heroine in the vein of Elizabeth Moon, Creasy boldly goes where few have traveled before. No wonder author Vonda N. McIntyre declares that "Sara Creasy is a new writer to watch, and Song of Scarabaeus is a novel to read and enjoy."



This item is Non-Returnable.

 

Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780061934735
  • ISBN-10: 0061934739
  • Publisher: Harper Voyager
  • Publish Date: April 2010
  • Page Count: 368
  • Dimensions: 6.82 x 4.24 x 1.02 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.38 pounds

Series: Scarabaeus #1

Related Categories

 

BookPage Reviews

Living in a biological nightmare

How valuable would you be if you had the talent to reshape planetary ecosystems to make them suitable for human colonization? Edie Sha’nim, the heroine of Sara Creasy’s assured debut novel Song of Scarabaeus, quickly discovers how far people will go to control her talent when she is kidnapped by a group of criminals and forced to aid their illegal schemes. 

Edie is skilled at manipulating “biocyph,” a combination of bio- and information technology that can rewrite biology on any scale ranging from a few cells to a whole planet. This makes her a valuable commodity to both the “Crib”—the governing bureaucracy which has controlled her life since childhood—and the rebel “Fringe” worlds. A recent civil war has given the Fringe worlds nominal independence from the Crib, but their dependence on expensive Crib technology to keep their planets habitable keeps them economically subservient. With Edie on their team, the criminals can scavenge abandoned Crib technology and sell it to the Fringe at a greatly reduced cost. 

Edie makes an appealing heroine: flawed, willful and determined to make her own destiny apart from the groups that want to control her. Parts of her tragic backstory come back to haunt her when she is paired with a bodyguard. The two are forced into symbiotic cooperation, chained together by a trick of technology and a shared need to escape; a complicated relationship quickly emerges. Fans of the romance genre will appreciate the smoldering looks and barely suppressed yearnings between these two attractive, strong-willed characters. 

The forces competing for Edie come to a head on and around the titular planet Scarabaeus, a convincingly drawn biological nightmare for which Edie holds herself responsible. The finale is tense and exciting; enough plot strands are tied up to be satisfying, while leaving plenty open for another entry in this universe. 

Song of Scarabaeus is an enjoyable, fast-paced slice of adventure science fiction, infused with a measured dose of romance. The technological and political background is revealed with a deft hand, never getting in the way of the action. 

Tom Warin lives in New England with his wife and two cats.

 

BAM Customer Reviews