The Starless Sea
by Erin Morgenstern


Overview - From the New York Times bestselling author of The Night Circus, a timeless love story set in a secret underground world--a place of pirates, painters, lovers, liars, and ships that sail upon a starless sea.

Zachary Ezra Rawlins is a graduate student in Vermont when he discovers a mysterious book hidden in the stacks. As he turns the pages, entranced by tales of lovelorn prisoners, key collectors, and nameless acolytes, he reads something strange: a story from his own childhood. Bewildered by this inexplicable book and desperate to make sense of how his own life came to be recorded, Zachary uncovers a series of clues--a bee, a key, and a sword--that lead him to a masquerade party in New York, to a secret club, and through a doorway to an ancient library hidden far below the surface of the earth. What Zachary finds in this curious place is more than just a buried home for books and their guardians--it is a place of lost cities and seas, lovers who pass notes under doors and across time, and of stories whispered by the dead. Zachary learns of those who have sacrificed much to protect this realm, relinquishing their sight and their tongues to preserve this archive, and also of those who are intent on its destruction. Together with Mirabel, a fierce, pink-haired protector of the place, and Dorian, a handsome, barefoot man with shifting alliances, Zachary travels the twisting tunnels, darkened stairwells, crowded ballrooms, and sweetly soaked shores of this magical world, discovering his purpose--in both the mysterious book and in his own life.


From our buyer, Margaret T.: Erin Morgenstern’s much-anticipated second novel, eight years after The Night Circus, is a book about a mysterious book that takes the reader on a journey through myths, legends, and folk tales. The Starless Seais for anyone who loved The Night Circus, and for fans of Neil Gaiman and V.E. Schwab.

  Read Full Product Description
 
Hardcover
  • Retail Price: $28.95
  • $21.71
    (Save 25%)
Add to Cart
+ Add to Wishlist
local_shippingFor Delivery
In Stock.
FREE Shipping for Club Members help
 
storeBuy Online Pickup In Store
search store by zipcode

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 34 copies from $21.12
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

Customers Also Bought

More About The Starless Sea by Erin Morgenstern
 
 
 
Overview
From the New York Times bestselling author of The Night Circus, a timeless love story set in a secret underground world--a place of pirates, painters, lovers, liars, and ships that sail upon a starless sea.

Zachary Ezra Rawlins is a graduate student in Vermont when he discovers a mysterious book hidden in the stacks. As he turns the pages, entranced by tales of lovelorn prisoners, key collectors, and nameless acolytes, he reads something strange: a story from his own childhood. Bewildered by this inexplicable book and desperate to make sense of how his own life came to be recorded, Zachary uncovers a series of clues--a bee, a key, and a sword--that lead him to a masquerade party in New York, to a secret club, and through a doorway to an ancient library hidden far below the surface of the earth. What Zachary finds in this curious place is more than just a buried home for books and their guardians--it is a place of lost cities and seas, lovers who pass notes under doors and across time, and of stories whispered by the dead. Zachary learns of those who have sacrificed much to protect this realm, relinquishing their sight and their tongues to preserve this archive, and also of those who are intent on its destruction. Together with Mirabel, a fierce, pink-haired protector of the place, and Dorian, a handsome, barefoot man with shifting alliances, Zachary travels the twisting tunnels, darkened stairwells, crowded ballrooms, and sweetly soaked shores of this magical world, discovering his purpose--in both the mysterious book and in his own life.


From our buyer, Margaret T.: Erin Morgenstern’s much-anticipated second novel, eight years after The Night Circus, is a book about a mysterious book that takes the reader on a journey through myths, legends, and folk tales. The Starless Seais for anyone who loved The Night Circus, and for fans of Neil Gaiman and V.E. Schwab.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780385541213
  • ISBN-10: 038554121X
  • Publisher: Doubleday Books
  • Publish Date: November 2019
  • Page Count: 512
  • Dimensions: 9.3 x 6.5 x 1.6 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.9 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Fiction > Women
Books > Fiction > Romance - Fantasy
Books > Fiction > Fantasy - Historical

 
BAM Customer Reviews